I'm building a wooden HTPC case - what do I put in it?!

6 posts in this topic

Hello from Thailand everybody! I've been traveling for the past 2 months in Thailand, and have three more months to go in Cambodia,Laos, and Vietnam, and Bali. Anyway, point is I'm a nerd, and my travel partner and girlfriend happens to be a anti-nerd, so while I spend most of my days and nights walking/swimming/riding a scooter in some of the more amazing places the world has to offer, I can't stop the "nerdy" part of my brain from spinning and it has little release, save for my imagination.

With that in mind, I've decided to build a HTPC case when I get home, and have been designing it in my head for the past few weeks (it's going to be beautiful, thin and sexy, made out of tongue and grove maple, which I'll be making myself of course!) but have just recently decided to put a "hackintosh" in the case. I'm no stranger to the hardware/software world, but am fairly green when it comes to the OSX86 project. My last (and only) attempt to install OSX on a "PC" was a few years ago when I installed 10.4 on a Dell 600M notebook. It installed fine, after patching wireless worked, but runing most programs caused things to break. I believe it was a chipset issue, something missing (quatrz rings a bell?). Things have much improved since then it seems (right?) and one can build a totally (or nearly totally!) perfectly running system now (right?).

Anyway, I'm rambling, sorry.

I'm looking for hardware recomendations for a budget hackingtosh computer that I hope to be as small and quite as possible. I'm no video/audiophile and so as long as it has some way of idealy outputting 720p and 5.1 audio, I'll be happy. My biggest "want" is something that is quite, NOT VERY HOT, and will live well inside of a wooden box without a million fans running.