dual boot beginner question

13 posts in this topic

Hope this area is the right place to post this question...

Hi, Sorry if my question is from a beginner, i live in Brazil and i work with graphic desgin but im not very good with the tecnical part of computers. After drooling in front of a friends laptop running windows vista and mac os x, i really want to experiment the apple os. So im plan to install Leopard on my home pc, but i dont want to make any mistake. I have windows XP installed. I have everything needed: the iatkos 4i burned on a dvd, a partition (20gb) to install leopard and my cpu is compatible. I made a partition with acronis disk director:

C:/ NTFS - 54.31GB Primary, active (normal C:/ where windows XP is installed)

T:/ FAT32 - 20.22GB Primary (where i will install leopard)

But first i want to know something. If i install leopard on T: (i set it to primary in acronis disk director), after the installation, i think the first boot will be in mac os right? or will be normally in windows xp? if is in mac, how can i acess the boot.ini file to add the line for the dual boot?

I have read some tutorials, some say you have to re-install windows XP, this is not a option for me.

Somebody can help me please?

Sorry my english. :hysterical:

Download Gparted live cd, boot on it and after change the boot flag of the leo partition and remove the check and then, put it on the XP part...

Or boot on your Leo dvd and then, go on Terminal and type that:

diskutil list (to know your partition number)

fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0

flag x (put your partition number of leopard)

update

write

y

q

And after on your XP for the bootloader

1) Open My Computer.
2) Double-click on the C drive.
3) Click Tools, then Folder Options.
4) Click the View tab, then in the scrolling box, select "Show Hidden Files and Folders".
5) Uncheck "Hide protected operating system files (recommended)".
6) Click OK.