Jump to content
Welcome to InsanelyMac Forum

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Sign in to follow this  

Will the real onmac.net please step forward?

3 posts in this topic

Recommended Posts



Has anyone else noticed that www.onmac.net and onmac.net have slightly different pages and different IPs?

[Pinging www.onmac.net [] with 32 bytes of data:]

[Pinging onmac.net [] with 32 bytes of data:]


Are they both the same folks or is one potentially a hacker organisation piggybacking off onmac.net's url and maybe slipping some hackware into the XP on Mac software?


Given the low level stuff we are doing to get XP running it would be pretty important to be sure what we are installing is malware free no?


Can one of the admins from this sight please confirm if one or the other or both are legitimate onmac.net urls? And possibly find out why the sites are different?




Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Both sites are real. Someone incorrectly set up DNS, I'm guessing this was their attempt at load balancing, instead of using a proper round-robin setup. Oh well.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah he switched hosts again if you read the bottom of his page. It's a different host than this morning...

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.