Very annoyed with DistroWatch Weekly Comments again

Alessandro17

13 posts in this topic

http://distrowatch.com/weekly.php?issue=20...ode=67#comments comment #13

13 • Parsix (by Gene Venable on 2008-08-04 12:47:53 GMT from United States)

Parsix is better than your review. It has a very clean and attractive look, and it works well. I am a newbie at using my new Centro phone, and the first issue was how to do Syncing in Linux. To my surprise, Parsix seemed to be ready for me and setting up was surprisingly easy. Not so for my other main distro, Sidux, where I am still trying to find my way.

And btw, Persia not only doesn't really exist any more, but there is a big issue that apparently no one but me in my paranioa has thought of. Parsix is from Iran, a potential enemy of the US and maybe a lot of the world. Now, if I was thinking of cyberwarfare against an enemy, I might build an attractive program and conceal features in it that I could use if war broke out. Does someone from the US govt or other govts look at this sort of issue? The nice thing about Parsix is that it is open source, so any odd hooks in it could be discovered. But is anyone paying attention?

I know, Parsix is probably innocent and I am still using it. But it must be someone's job to wonder about these things. And I wonder how Iran allows such a cool program like Parsix to develop, in friendly collaboration with the entire world of Linux.

In my book this is an idiotic, flamebait post. And besides, totally off-topic, as it has much more to do with politics than with Linux.

But what do they do? Do they delete it? No way, they leave it and they delete the replies.

This happens on a regular basis. Sometimes people insult you, but if you reply to defend yourself, they delete your post.

This is is the most cretinous moderation style I have ever seen. So you let the trolls thrive, but you don't allow "normal" users to reply? :bag: :pirate2: