Triple Booting Guide

3 posts in this topic

As I said in another post I finally got triple booting working and am posting my method in case it helps anyone else. I am rather new to this so I might not be much help on some questions.

I did this using two hard drives, one already had Leopard on it using this guide.

1. Boot up into Leopard.

2. Open Disk Utility, select the hard drive you want to use and click "Partition". Select "1 Partition" under "Volume Scheme". Select "Options..." and select "Master Boot Record". Click Apply.

3. Shutdown your computer.

4. Open up your computer (if you have to) and disconnect your main Leopard hard drive, Vista doesn't like it :thumbsup_anim: . (I'm sure there are other ways to get around this but I could find any that worked for me. Vista just refused to install with it connected.)

5. Boot up Vista DVD.

6. Format entire drive as NTFS.

7. Install Vista.

8. Boot into Vista to see if it installed correctly. Update it if you are going on a three hour tour.

9. Boot up Ubuntu DVD. Select "Try Ubuntu without any change to your computer"

10. Open the partition editor from the menu: "System>Administration>Partition Editor"

11. Now you are going to create four new partitions. Master Boot Record will only allow four primary partitions, Vista already takes up one and we need four more so one of the partitions will need be an extended partition (which we will then create two partitions from. An extended partition counts as a primary partition, but the partition itself can then be subdivided)). Here is how I did it for a 160 GB drive:

a) Click on Vista's space and shrink it down to 100GB.

b ) Click on the empty space in the picture and then click "New." Create a primary partition, shrink it down to 25GB (for Leopard) and leave it unformatted.

c) Click on the empty space again, and click new. Create an extended partition, shrink the space down to 10GB (for Ubuntu and swap), unformatted.