Problem of triple boot

4 posts in this topic

Hello,

I've installed a dual boot (Linux and Windows) on my machine. Now, I want to extend this and put a triple boot (with mac os x on my PC).

I'm meeting trouple with the installation. In fact, the mac os x installer say that my ext3 partition (linux) is read only so he can't install any partition more.

I've even try to use disk utility to create a partition on my disk boor, but this utility show me that I can't create a partition on my disk boot since this disk is full (even I have just a ext3 partition of 38 Gb and a ntfs partition of 16 Gb on a disk of 80 Gb).

I'm new in mac os x (on PC) world, so can you give me some advices to install this great system on my desktop ?

You can use a Partition Manager like Gparted to format your free disc space or resize any partition.

What are you currently using to boot your dual boot configuration? If you're using Windows Boot Manager, you can use the chain0 method to boot your Mac OS X, but you'll have to make sure you don't install any boot loader while installing Mac OS X.

You can use a Partition Manager like Gparted to format your free disc space or resize any partition.
I can directly format it in HFS (in fact I just create a blank partition for osx).

I'll try to formaqt with fdsik (commad line power, gparted is just a GUI to fdisk, mount and mfs) but I don't know if the HFS+ (if its proponed), is a strong (stable) as the HFS+ proponed on a mac software

What are you currently using to boot your dual boot configuration? If you're using Windows Boot Manager, you can use the chain0 method to boot your Mac OS X, but you'll have to make sure you don't install any boot loader while installing Mac OS X.
I'm using grub, because it's one of the rare software who can be me from all device I want