Installation on a Dell Latitude XT Tablet

blowry22

83 posts in this topic

Hello all- I am new to InsanelyMac but I have been looking through these threads for a week now while I am attempting to install OSx86 on my Dell Latitude XT Tablet.

Thus far, it's been a bumpy road trying different things. At this point, I don't know if I can call it a success (and probably wouldn't) but I do have it booting nicely (from an external USB drive).

Here are the details on the unit:

Dell Latitude XT Tablet, BIOS A01

Intel Core 2 Duo Proc, 1.2 GHz

2 GB RAM (1.79 GB available)

80 GB Toshiba ATA-6, 1.8" HDD

ATI Radeon Mobility x1250, 256 MB RAM

Sigmatel 9205 Audio Controller

Dell 1490 Dual-band Wireless (Broadcom)

N-Trig Digitizing Tablet

SD reader and firewire as well

Now that's out of the way, here's what I have so far:

I tried the Kaly Leopard but was quite discouraged when I didn't see the internal HDD. Somehwere (mistakenly) I read the internal drive was SATA and to use the TOH Leopard. So that's where I'm at today, I used the TOH (plus that one had some extra scripts but I can't rule anything with Kaly out because I learned so many other techniques and steps working through ToH).

Neither one can see my internal HDD (which I learned later is not SATA but ATA-6) so I decided to try and use an external USB 40GB HDD. The install saw the USB drive and after following some additional steps regarding using MBR rather than GUID for the partitioning scheme I created the drive and loaded Leopard (just to note, that even before with using the GUID method, Leopard did install however at the end I received a "install failed").

After using MBR scheme I didn't receive the "install failed"... in fact it was successful. Of course then I had to boot back in with the DVD and go to "Terminal" to set the drive to properly boot and "blessed".