Kernel Panic during boot after NVinject install

CandC

9 posts in this topic

So after a long and arduous journey to get my vostro 1500 up and running (MBR nightmare), I tried to install the graphics driver for NVidia cards and it comes back with a Kernel Panic.

So exactly what happened:

installed NVinject, said to restart

I restart gets to grey apple and says I have to restart (kernel Panic)

I boot in safe mode "-x" and it starts once, I am relieved that it may work.. I restart and it has the same problem and won't boot in "-x"

I read a lot online and the only thing I come up with is booting with the command "old_kernel", which works perfectly - with the graphics driver installed.

I try to find out how to restore the kernel and came up empty handed.

I am really new to this whole thing and have never really had to troubleshoot OS X before, so the commands are a little non-intuitive.

I don't even know how to unistall the NVinject pack I installed...

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks.

Having the same issue here..

I tried your suggestion, PlayingKarrde, but I tried booting in -v and it stopped at

"AppleNForceATA: NVIDIA nForce MCP 51 by MeDevil (CMD 0x1f0, CTR 0x3f4, IRQ 14, BM 0x3080)"

Tried booting with -v and -F and it stops at

"wl0: Broadcom BCM4311 802.11 Wireless Controller" <- this line is directly below the "AppleNForceATA" one.

I'll try booting using the "old_kernel" now. :D

Edit: "old_kernel" method didn't work for me. Left me at the same "AppleNForceATA" line.

Erasing the partition and starting over feels more tempting now! >:)