New to the whole Website thing

18 posts in this topic

Hi,

(sorry if this is the wrong thread)

I'm new to having my own website and I have a question.

I bought a domain name from godaddy.com (that's it) and I was wondering if I could just use to iWeb to edit everything then publish it to that domain name. I have the program Cyberduck, but I'm unfamiliar with how to use it. If anyone could help it would be great, I'm sure a lot of you here know this a lot better than I do.

Thanks.

Cyberduck is an FTP client. This tool is used to transfer files from one host (your PC) to another (your ISP server). You will need to know the login and password, plus the target ftp server's address in order to use it (this info is provided by your ISP).

I haven't used iWeb yet, but I believe you can configure it to access the server directly. Then, all you need to do is to make your website and use the export or publish button to transfer the files.

Hope this helps,

hecker

Yeah it helps a little.

The problem I'm having is on Godaddy, I don't know where to access my username and password. I know it sounds dumb, but I really can't find it on there...

If anyone is familiar with Godaddy.com and could help I'd appreciate it.. thanks a ton

Godaddy offers free hosting with a domain name, however it has banners. It is in your control panel somewhere, I believe the heading is Hosting. Take a peek around and you should be able to find it, if you can't let me know and I will go on mine and tell you where to look.

I don't recommend Godaddy's hosting as it is poor, but it does work.

I am looking around and for some reason it just isn't popping up.. if you wouldn't mind taking a look at yours I'd appreciate it. I'm ok with the banners this website doesn't need to be anything ridiculous when it comes to professional.

I'll edit if I find it though.. thanks

I get mine from one.com, though my next domain will be from either godaddy or 1&1.