Jump to content

(I got my) ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro fully working in 10.5.2


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1
iz303

iz303

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Those who have a HD 2400 Pro--here's how I got it to work after trying a lot of stuff:

- Clean install of 10.5.2 (I used Zephyroth's AMD release rev. 2) -- by clean I mean don't install any of the graphics drivers.
- Make sure you give the user a password
- Download Kexthelper b7 (www.cheetha.net/Kext_Helper/Software.html)
- Install February 26th 2008 Natit (I grabbed it from http://www.netkas.org) using kexthelper
- Reboot to see if OSX still boots
- In my case it did, and I could select resolutions now from OSX rather than the boot options.
- I had no QE/CI yet

- Time to figure out your device id. - If you don't know your device id, you can find it by going to About This Mac -> More Info -> Graphics

- I think the following is not empasized clearly on the web elsewhere: Add your device id to ATIRadeonX2000.kext/Contents/Info.plist[b] in /System/Libraries/Extensions using TextEdit (I edited the file directly, rather than first copying it to my desktop or whatever)

- In the Info.plist you'll see a bunch of numbers going "0x91321002 0x94c31002" etc. Add your device ID to this list, with 1200 added behind it. My device id is 0x94c3 so I added 0x94c31002 to the list of numbers.

- When you're done, just close and save the file.

- I'm not sure if it was necessary, but I also opened a terminal and entered:

sudo -s
[then you enter your admin pw, which is the pw you gave to your user]
su
kextcache -k /System/Libraries/Extensions
reboot


I just did this on my machine and now I have QE/CI working. No dual display, it seems.
Good luck everyone.

#2
Maurits

Maurits

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
Will this also work for Tiger, 10.4.11 with 8.10.1 kernel?

#3
iz303

iz303

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
It's worth trying. From what I know it's hard to predict the answer to your question, but I just got into the whole osx86 thing.

In any case, be smarter than me and figure out some basic stuff. Especially the following boot options:

- when doing kext stuff etc. always boot using -v this makes all error msgs during boot visual
- if you can't boot in normal mode, first boot into safe mode using -v -x This skips some drivers, but not all. It helps in most cases after you've installed a (graphics) kext that makes OSX unbootable (kernel errors, whatever).
- if you can't boot into safe mode either, you need to get your {censored} together in the command shell, which is a good idea to do if you're going to install some kext that you're not sure of what the result will be. You can get the shell by booting with -v -s

The last one is really cool, I think, because (for maintenance terms) it can take ages to boot osx, even on a fast machine. The -s mode boots very quickly.

I didn't get my {censored} together in the command shell yet, but I managed most stuff using a second computer on which I googled these forums.

#4
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City
Please someone help us!!!


I have an ATI HD 2400 XT and tried everything in this post but I can´t got it to work.

I install Kalyway 10.5.1 and update to 10.5.2 with vanilla kernel.
Since I finish the instalation I boot for the first time I got squares on my screen and I can´t see anything for work in this Laptop I need to use the -x flag in the Darwin Boot menu.

Gateway M 6809m

Core2duo@1.67 Ghz
3Gb RAM
250 Hard Disk
ATI HD 2400xt 128 Mb

Thanks for you help.

Sorry for the bad english.

#5
glacial

glacial

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
for some strange reason ATIRadeonX2000.kext doesn't appear after natit installation

I am using leo4all v2 vanilla 9.2.

my card is hd 2400xt device id:0x94c1

help please

p.s. I decided to install apple graphic update and after that ATIRadeonX2000.kext finally appeared. I made the changes described in the first post and didn't manage to boot (got wierd screen)

^_^

#6
glacial

glacial

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
sorry for the bump

#7
xxDriveNxx

xxDriveNxx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
I have the same device id as you, and followed the steps, but no success.
OS X just boots up, and my monitor loses connection with the video card. I then have to boot into single user mode and delete the natit kext.
Oh well, I will continue waiting.

#8
glacial

glacial

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

I have the same device id as you, and followed the steps, but no success.
OS X just boots up, and my monitor loses connection with the video card. I then have to boot into single user mode and delete the natit kext.
Oh well, I will continue waiting.


I will continue as well ;)

#9
glacial

glacial

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Recently I released that I bought Amd's company product which is ATI hd 2400xt device, but I've always been Intel's fan.
I am buying the card based on Nvidia 8600 GT gpu, bye bye ATI, though it was kool card anyway.

Macs and all the related stuff is indeed insane like this forum :unsure:

#10
keoni5

keoni5

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Those who have a HD 2400 Pro--here's how I got it to work after trying a lot of stuff:

- Clean install of 10.5.2 (I used Zephyroth's AMD release rev. 2) -- by clean I mean don't install any of the graphics drivers.
- Make sure you give the user a password
- Download Kexthelper b7 (www.cheetha.net/Kext_Helper/Software.html)
- Install February 26th 2008 Natit (I grabbed it from http://www.netkas.org) using kexthelper
- Reboot to see if OSX still boots
- In my case it did, and I could select resolutions now from OSX rather than the boot options.
- I had no QE/CI yet

- Time to figure out your device id. - If you don't know your device id, you can find it by going to About This Mac -> More Info -> Graphics

- I think the following is not empasized clearly on the web elsewhere: Add your device id to ATIRadeonX2000.kext/Contents/Info.plist[b] in /System/Libraries/Extensions using TextEdit (I edited the file directly, rather than first copying it to my desktop or whatever)

- In the Info.plist you'll see a bunch of numbers going "0x91321002 0x94c31002" etc. Add your device ID to this list, with 1200 added behind it. My device id is 0x94c3 so I added 0x94c31002 to the list of numbers.

- When you're done, just close and save the file.

- I'm not sure if it was necessary, but I also opened a terminal and entered:

sudo -s
[then you enter your admin pw, which is the pw you gave to your user]
su
kextcache -k /System/Libraries/Extensions
reboot


I just did this on my machine and now I have QE/CI working. No dual display, it seems.
Good luck everyone.


I have everything working with the dvi to vga adapter, If you do not have an AMD processor use leo4all installing no video drivers then install the graphics update (detailed on the leo4all dvd) , and then follow the instructions in this post. note: kextcache part is erroneous

#11
Majority

Majority

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I have the same device id as you, and followed the steps, but no success.
OS X just boots up, and my monitor loses connection with the video card. I then have to boot into single user mode and delete the natit kext.
Oh well, I will continue waiting.


I thought I'd reply and say I can't get it to work either. Same device-id as the original poster. Kinda irritating -- that his is working and mine isn't :D. My monitor is connected through DVI.

I'm using EFI graphics strings though, previously setup to use the ATY,Franklin framebuffer and this allowed resolution changing, but as soon as I added the device id of my graphics card to the atix2000kext for CI/QE support I would get the monitor disconnect issue. Using teh ATY,Iago framebuffer which I assume natit also uses, the monitor would just disconnect, even without the device id of my graphics card entered into the atix2000kext.

I can see two people have gotten this working though. iz303 doesn't mention how he has connected the graphics card to his monitor, but keoni5 says he has it working with a dvi-to-vga adapter, maybe I should try that.

#12
redblur94

redblur94

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
First of all, thanks for this!

I'm running the 2400 Pro with the same ID as OP and run into problems when I'm supposed to locate the ATIRadeonX2000.kext. It's just not there. I have ATIRadeonX2000GL.bundle, etc but no kext. I am running on AMD and have tried installing the Leopard Graphics update as mentioned above but as I expected it kills my system. Is there a graphics update available for AMD systems that allows me to see the kext after install?

Did anyone experience anything like that at first ?...or was the kext available for you on the first shot and have no idea what I'm talking about? :(

ne help much appreciated!

John

#13
nimitch

nimitch

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
@iz303, What resolution are you running at? I've got the same card, running at 1024 x 768 on OS X 10.5.3.

I'd like to have a higher resolution if possible, but it is working. I'm just not sure when you say that you got it fully working,..did you mean that it just wasn't displaying anything before or if you got higher resolutions.

Thanks.

#14
nimitch

nimitch

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
If anyone else is having issues with getting a higher resolution with their AT HD 2400 Pro PCIe card,...I was able to find a working install package on page (2) of this post:

http://forum.insanel...o...=107526&hl=

FWIW, I also tried the HD 3650 install package, and the driver for that card works for the 3650 card as well.

#15
Henrik C

Henrik C

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
I'm stuck here. I downloaded the Natit.kext and installed it, and everything works fine until my machine is about to log in.
I can see the BIOS screen, the start-up screen with the Apple logo and the spinning circle, but when the machine is logging in (automatic login) the screen goes black and I can't see a thing.

Any suggestions?
It's the PCIe version, and I'm using it on a motherboard from ECS. (945GCT-M/1333)

#16
remcokatz

remcokatz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
[codebox]I have everything working with the dvi to vga adapter, If you do not
have an AMD processor use leo4all installing no video drivers then
install the graphics update (detailed on the leo4all dvd) , and then
follow the instructions in this post. note: kextcache part is erroneous.[/codebox]

Should work for other releases

#17
lowlife

lowlife

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Those who have a HD 2400 Pro--here's how I got it to work after trying a lot of stuff:

- Clean install of 10.5.2 (I used Zephyroth's AMD release rev. 2) -- by clean I mean don't install any of the graphics drivers.
- Make sure you give the user a password
- Download Kexthelper b7 (www.cheetha.net/Kext_Helper/Software.html)
- Install February 26th 2008 Natit (I grabbed it from http://www.netkas.org) using kexthelper
- Reboot to see if OSX still boots
- In my case it did, and I could select resolutions now from OSX rather than the boot options.
- I had no QE/CI yet
...
I just did this on my machine and now I have QE/CI working. No dual display, it seems.
Good luck everyone.


Hey iz303 (or anyone with this card),

When you say fully working, do you mean DVI out works?

Thx

#18
Melon Man

Melon Man

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Hey iz303 (or anyone with this card),

When you say fully working, do you mean DVI out works?

Thx


I am using Natit and I need to use a DVI to VGA adapter :rolleyes:
But Core Image and Quartz Extreme work :angel:

#19
marius.pozna

marius.pozna

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
i have tried this and other´s method whit no result. My vga card is radeon HD 2400 XT (id: 0x94c8; vendor id: 0x1002; revision id: 0x0000; DevicePath = PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)). Is there any way to make it work, enable QE/CI?! 10x and sory for my english.

acer tm5720
cpu: centrino core duo 2,4G
ram: 4G DDR II 667MHz
wifi: bcm 94312 mgc
vga: HD 2400 XT 256Mb
hdd: 320 G
dual boot Windows 7 + iAtkos v7

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP....

#20
Giorgio_multi

Giorgio_multi

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 9,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italy
  • Interests:Elettronica in genere, informatica e Sistemi Operativi in particolare. Cani da slitta e Sleddog....
Hi to all!


@marius.pozna: 2400 mobility don't works in Leopard.


Giorgio





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy