To Hackintosh or not to Hackintosh. General observations of OS X vs Windows

surfinchina

3 posts in this topic

I'm just after general observations here.

Now I've been using OS X full time for a few months on my Hack :)

What do you like, or not, about running Mac OS X on your computer?

OS X makes my hardware go more slowly - CPU and GPU benchmarks are about 10% slower.

But OS X software seems to be a lot more efficient. The software starts up way faster and does it's stuff more quickly.

Win for OS X

OS X is more for nerds. I've had to get used to terminal and use it a lot more than CMD in windows.

This is a lose for os x right now, but I can see it's turning into a win, plus I'll ultimately end up understanding my computer better, so less issues in the end.

I am liking just dragging programs to trash when I don't want them any more.

A lot of my hardware needs workarounds.

eg: I use a corsair keyboard with macro keys - really cool for my CAD and assigning complex commands to a single key, but quite difficult to get it working. My accounting package has to run in parallels, as does my fan controller. Some of these things have no Mac solution I can migrate to over time.

Lose for OS X and it's proprietary hardware thing.

Modern GPUs and other hardware.

I need a helper card just to start my computer because Apple hardware is a few generations behind.

I need a usb dac because I've never solved the onboard sound.

Hey that's why we hackintosh! Now I have a Mac that's faster than any other and does the job better. the sounds as I work are outstanding. I have 3 screens on 2 video cards and my son is quite jealous.

• Like 1

Guest ricoc90

I need to admit that I never really liked macOS. I knew hackintoshing was a possibility and that it would be a difficult process. Well,  that's exactly what got me into it.