Codec Commander customization for dual boot sound issues

roddie

16 posts in this topic

All,

I'm still fairly new to the Hackintosh world, so please forgive me if I mess up any of the terms.

I've built a Hackintosh using a Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5 MB and other support peripherals.  Everything is running very smoothly (sound, GTX 960 graphics, etc), including a dual-boot with Windows 10 on dedicated SSDs.   

The only problem I'm having right now is when I boot from Windows 10 back to OS X, I get no sound without doing a complete shutdown.  Some Googling over the weekend lead me to find out that the levels are being manipulated by the Windows 10 Realtek driver and that I should use Codec Commander to reset them when I boot back to OS X.  The suggestion is to use Rehabman's fork here with the following customization to info.plist:

<key>10ec_0900</key>
<string>Realtek ALC1150</string>
<key>Realtek ALC1150</key>
<dict>
  <key>Custom Commands</key>
  <array>
    <dict>
      <key>Command</key>
      <data>AgUABw==</data>
      <key>Comment</key>
      <string>0x20 SET_COEF_INDEX 0x07</string>
      <key>On Init</key>
      <true/>
      <key>On Sleep</key>
      <true/>
      <key>On Wake</key>
      <true/>
    </dict>
    <dict>
      <key>Command</key>
      <data>AgR8sA==</data>
      <key>Comment</key>
      <string>0x20 SET_PROC_COEF 0x7CB0</string>
      <key>On Init</key>
      <true/>
      <key>On Sleep</key>
      <false/>
      <key>On Wake</key>
      <true/>
    </dict>
  </array>
  <key>Update Nodes</key>
  <false/>
  <key>Sleep Nodes</key>
  <false/>
  <key>Send Delay</key>
  <integer>100</integer>
</dict>