Kernel panic on boot after Yosemite -> Sierra upgrade

modprobe

3 posts in this topic

Hello all. I am brand new to this forum, and though I passed the entry quizzes OK (I'm quite competent in computers in general), I know relatively little about Mac or Hackintosh specifically, so please forgive me if I forget to include important information or otherwise seem clueless. I've been using a hackintosh for several years, but for the most part I've been able to figure everything out myself with relatively little knowledge, thanks to the wonderful resources on forums like this one, and so I haven't had to learn much in-depth about how OSX works or the hacks required to make it run on unblessed hardware.

I successfully upgraded my Yosemite install, which had been working smoothly for quite some time now, to Sierra. Doing so proved difficult, as I kept having boot trouble booting the installer, but I got it working by using OsxAptioFix2Drv in Clover, and massaging the kexts until it worked. The install went smoothly, and then everything went to hell.

** In case of tl;dr, this next paragraph contains the actual problem **