Jump to content

new nvidia driver 313.01.01f03 and cuda 5.0.59


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#21
ktzyeah

ktzyeah

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
i tried various 1080p videos with vlc, xbmc and from vimeo: no signs of channel exceptions here!

#22
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
Mobile Keplers in PC laptops still doesn't work with this release(

#23
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

i tried various 1080p videos with vlc, xbmc and from vimeo: no signs of channel exceptions here!


Had you tried youtube?, because as soon I try to play a video it freezee, I tried in a fresh installed 10.8.3 in my Asus G74SX with GTX560M.

This is what I get from log


May 16 13:35:05 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin kernel[0]: NVDA(Video): Channel exception! exception type = 0x1f = Fifo: MMU Error
May 16 13:35:25 --- last message repeated 1 time ---
May 16 13:35:25 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin kernel[0]: NVDA(Video): Channel timeout!
May 16 13:35:54 --- last message repeated 1 time ---
May 16 13:35:54 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin.local PluginProcess[481]: VADriver: Channel timeout (client), ch = 3
May 16 13:36:05 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel timeout!
May 16 13:36:06 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin kernel[0]: NVDA(Video): Channel exception! exception type = 0x1f = Fifo: MMU Error
May 16 13:36:26 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin kernel[0]: NVDA(Video): Channel timeout!
May 16 13:36:46 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel timeout!
May 16 13:37:06 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin kernel[0]: NVDA(Video): Channel timeout!
May 16 13:37:26 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin.local PluginProcess[481]: VADriver: Channel timeout (kernel), ch = 3
May 16 13:37:26 MacBook-Pro-de-Agustin kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel timeout!

Good Luck

#24
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,429 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela
Working much better than Apple drivers for me. Perfect switching between NVIDIA Web and OS X Default. FYI I have installed
Chameleon 2.2svn (svn-r2189) [2013-03-29 10:38:51] + his module version of FileNVRAM.dylib (56.136 bytes) [2013-03-29 05:09]

No kernel flag "nvda_drv=1" in /Extra/o.c.B.p (so, just leave the job to the module).

Note: I used "Flat Package Editor.app" (inside "PackageMaker.app") for modify the ".pkg installer" with iMac9,1 entry in "Distribution" file.

This is what I did. For example:
1) Extract the .pkg installer with "Unarchiver.app" (free from App Store), or use Pacifist.
2) Edit "Distribution" as Gringo said with your SMBios profile. I use TextMate for that.
3) Open the .pkg installer with FPE, delete the vanilla "Distribution" and drag the hacked new one to the FPE window.
4) Save, quit... and run the modified installer.

About FPE: http://forum.hardmac...showtopic=10703

You can find "Auxiliary Tools for Xcode..." in Developers Downloads (page 2): https://developer.ap...ds/index.action
Attached File  Captura de pantalla 2013-05-16 a la(s) 23.33.19.png   185.01KB   45 downloads

#25
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Oh groovy, I didn't know about FPE, thanks. Definitely beats using Pacifist.

#26
Riley Freeman

Riley Freeman

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Streets
I've deleted the Driver Manager prefpane now. The only function that works is the update check so it's no use for me. ECC is only supported by one card and driver switching doesn't work. nvda_drv=1 in my chameleon boot plist forces the nvidia driver to load and if I want to switch back to the Apple one I can just type nvda_drv=0 at the Chameleon prompt.

One thing I've noticed is my card reports 1MB less VRAM with the nvidia driver (4095 vs 4096 with the Apple driver). I see Gringo's card is doing the same.

#27
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,991 posts
  • Gender:Male

I've deleted the Driver Manager prefpane now. The only function that works is the update check so it's no use for me. ECC is only supported by one card and driver switching doesn't work. nvda_drv=1 in my chameleon boot plist forces the nvidia driver to load and if I want to switch back to the Apple one I can just type nvda_drv=0 at the Chameleon prompt.

One thing I've noticed is my card reports 1MB less VRAM with the nvidia driver (4095 vs 4096 with the Apple driver). I see Gringo's card is doing the same.


Strange about the ram... cosmetic issue in a value in the driver perhaps?

Also there are a lot more then 1 card that supports ECC functionality on the GPUs.

#28
Riley Freeman

Riley Freeman

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Streets
Could be. It's not a big deal, just an observation. It's actually been a while since I used nvidia drivers over the Apple ones.

On the ECC front, I was mainly going by the info on the nvidia page which said that only the K5000 was supported. From what I can gather the Quadros have ECC memory but not the consumer cards.

#29
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

i tried various 1080p videos with vlc, xbmc and from vimeo: no signs of channel exceptions here!


The freezee I´m getting seems only happen with apple related programs, if I use safari to see a video in apple web site or in youtube = Freezee and if I try open a file with Quick time = freezee

I can view youtube or any other video with Chrome or Firefox, and for view video files vlc or BlueRay Player no freezee at all.

I tried a few Games, OpenGL Extension viewer, Unigine Heaven and No freeze too, I will keep making some testing.

Good Luck

EDIT: Fix it!!!, change smbios to Mac Pro and all is working, now I can test this drivers to find if the Fermi Freezee is also fixed.

Some one knows how this profile match works??? I mean how this profile match is validated and inside which files???

Thankss!!!

#30
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,991 posts
  • Gender:Male

Could be. It's not a big deal, just an observation. It's actually been a while since I used nvidia drivers over the Apple ones.

On the ECC front, I was mainly going by the info on the nvidia page which said that only the K5000 was supported. From what I can gather the Quadros have ECC memory but not the consumer cards.


Tesla cards as well. They may have locked other cards but I have a feeling this can be hacked... if we can get a NVram dump with ECC enabled we could see what could be done.

#31
shilohhh

shilohhh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas
These web drivers totally SUCK for my GTX 5xx Firmi cards. They drop Luxmark 2.0 OpenCL performance by a whopping 35%!!!!!! GTX 580 Classified 3GB drops from 1430 to 1050. GTX 570 HD 2.5GB drops from 1101 to 844. I switched back immediately. I wonder if 6xx Kelper users are seeing a performance increase or decrease? I also wonder if this is nVidia trying to cripple/throttle the 5xx cards to sell new ones. I guess the next update will give more insight about that.

It was the "OpenCL reporting error". Luxmark shows 16 & 15 compute units with the web driver and 60 & 64 compute units with the stock driver.

Thanks to Rampage Dev for reminding me of that bug.

Attached Files







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy