Jump to content

Chameleon not going in time out or GUI


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi,

This is the first time I had this problem, installed Chameleon on my 10.8 using boot0, in org.chameleon.Boot.plist I add in Default Partition, Timeout and Theme, it used to be able to boot up using my theme and time out with default partition, but after recent restore from 10.7.4. via Time Machine and update to 10.8, the boot loader now just stop at the black and white screen for me to choose partition without time out, and I did see a Unknown GPT partition there, any idea why the Chameleon is not booting the theme?

Thanks.

#2
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
you may need more than just boot0 after a restore, and could be old active partition it's booting from, just run the chameleon installer and point it towards your 10.8 and it will ensure all the boot files are installed and set the correct partition as active.

#3
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
I've tried to install the Chameleon on my 10.8 still can't get it to work properly, is there a way to remove and reinstall the Chameleon?

#4
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
you would normally just over write old version. If theme is listed in plist, make sure theme folder in present in /Extra with the theme's folder inside that, named exactly the same as listed in boot plist. If needed you can use Chameleon Wizard to download and re-apply new theme. If still problem after all that, check proper permissions for each folder in path to theme

#5
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
Did a reinstall of Chameleon, used Chameleon Wizard to reapply theme doesn't work either. I use diskutil to list all my drive, it does show something extra on my MT drive:

/dev/disk0
   #:					   TYPE NAME					SIZE           IDENTIFIER
   0:	  GUID_partition_scheme                  *500.1 GB   disk0
   1:      EFI                                                    209.7 MB   disk0s1
   2:      Apple_HFS Macintosh HD                250.1 GB   disk0s2
   3:      Microsoft Basic Data Universe        249.6 GB   disk0s3
/dev/disk1
   #:					   TYPE NAME					SIZE           IDENTIFIER
   0:	 FDisk_partition_scheme                   *500.1 GB   disk1
   1:     Windows_NTFS Windows				 268.4 GB   disk1s1
   2:     Windows_NTFS Personal                 231.7 GB   disk1s2
/dev/disk2
   #:					   TYPE NAME					SIZE           IDENTIFIER
   0:	 FDisk_partition_scheme                   *640.1 GB   disk2
   1:     Windows_NTFS Vault                       640.1 GB   disk2s1
/dev/disk3
   #:					   TYPE NAME					SIZE            IDENTIFIER
   0:	 FDisk_partition_scheme                    *499.4 GB   disk3
   1:    Apple_HFS Time Machine                  499.4 GB   disk3s1

Is the EFI partition the one the making problem? I did not see the drive anywhere when I booted though.

#6
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
EFI partition is normall for GUID and is not used by anything anymore. If chameleon is loading and just no GUI, it's not gonna be a partition problem, but either a permission/ownership issue in /Extra or / or is a configuration error. If you post bdmesg out put and org.chameleon.boot.plist, should be able to tell. For bdmedg just type that in terminal and add path for text file output like this:
bdmesg &--#62; ~/Desktop/bdmesg.txt
If on any other volume also exists /Extra folswe at root, remove it. But based on diskutil, you look 99% Windows

#7
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
I did have Windows Vista on 1 of my HDD before I purchase and added another HDD just for OS X, initially I was playing with MBT then it not working well for Lion, so I switched to GPT partition and it works fine, also partitioned another ExFat drive from the OS X HDD for sharing file between OS X and Windows. Yes, I can boot up, just that it won't go into GUI and no auto time out (I'm using exactly the same org.chameleon.boot.plist because I restored 10.7.4 from Time Machine and then install MT over it), also tried repair permission using Kext Wizard.

Anyway, I'll try the bdmesg command when I get back, thanks man.

#8
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
After getting the first output from the bdmesg, I got this:

(...)
Attempting to read GPT
Read GPT
Reading GPT partition 1, type C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
Reading GPT partition 2, type 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
Reading GPT partition 3, type EBD0A0A2-B9E5-4433-87C0-68B6B72699C7
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist] 475 bytes.
Invalid mach magic 0x2
Module 'Symbols.dylib' by 'Chameleon' Loaded.
Description: Chameleon symbols for linking
Version: 0
Compat:  0
Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132 - Chameleon v2.1svn r1820
Build date: 2012-02-17 05:45:18
8191MB memory
VESA v3.0 14MB (NVIDIA)
Scanning device 80...Use  keys to select the startup volume.    hd(0,2) Macintosh HD  
(...)

After google around, I decided (bad decision) to install newer release of Chameleon (Chameleon-2.1svn-r2042), and now I ended up with a blank screen and a blinking cursor (the underscore cursor) if my Time Machine drive is plugged in, else I still go back to the original selection menu, but my bdmesg is a bit different now:

(...)
Attempting to read GPT
Read GPT
Reading GPT partition 1, type C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
Reading GPT partition 2, type 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist] 475 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist] 1069 bytes.
Attempting to read GPT
Read GPT
Reading GPT partition 1, type C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
Reading GPT partition 2, type 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
Reading GPT partition 3, type EBD0A0A2-B9E5-4433-87C0-68B6B72699C7
Read HFS+ file: [hd(2,2)/System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist] 475 bytes.
Invalid mach magic 0x2
Module 'Symbols.dylib' by 'Chameleon' Loaded.
Description: Chameleon symbols for linking
Version: 0
Compat:  0
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/modules/klibc.dylib] 44252 bytes.
Module 'klibc.dylib' by 'Unknown' Loaded.
Description:
Version: 0
Compat:  0
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/modules/uClibcxx.dylib] 77808 bytes.
Module 'uClibcxx.dylib' by 'Unknown' Loaded.
Description:
Version: 0
Compat:  0
Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132 - Chameleon v2.1svn r1820
Build date: 2012-02-17 05:45:18
8191MB memory
VESA v3.0 14MB (NVIDIA)
Scanning device 80...Press any key to enter startup options.(5) (4) Use  keys to select the startup volume.    hd(0,2)
(...)

It still saying Chameleon v2.1 svn r1820 on top though. I have no idea how can I fix it now as I think I just made the problem worst.

#9
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
do you have usb stick you can erase and install just fresh chameleon onto for test? Choose it as boot drive in bios. Also for it and for the one above, can you post the full bdmesg as a text file? command is:


bdmesg > ~/Desktop/bdmesg.txt

#10
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
You mean install the Chameleon into a blank usb instead of to my MT partition, then when I boot up my PC, I choose to boot from pendrive, then only choose my MT partition from the Chameleon booted via usb?

I will post the full bdmesg once I'm off work tonight. Thanks man.

#11
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
yes, exactly what I mean :)

#12
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
@eep357, I've attached the bdmesg output of normal boot and boot via usb stick.

Attached Files



#13
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
OK, looks as though problem is with your BIOS, either it's not honoring your choice to use different boot device, or after selecting different boot device it is not able to read it so then going to the next available device in the list, eventually finding the same chameleon1820 at HD(0,2)

#14
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
But my MT is in the hd(0,2), I thought it should works properly. What's your suggestion? Should I wipe everything and reinstall?

#15
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,098 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
If you're not using any of the modules you should delete the modules folder.

#16
stephensaw

stephensaw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
After reinstall, the Unknown GPT partition no longer there, and I can boot in now, I guess I messed it up when I simply install multiple type of bootloader





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy