Jump to content

6870 issues


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#21
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
Christ, I know the 4870s run hot but 72ºC? I do believe that's way too warm to be considered idle temps especially just pushing one display. What kind of case do you have and how's the cooling for the gpu? I mean the ambient is a bit warm also at 51 but the gpu is definitely being starved from good air flow with those temps right there. I have a sapphire 6870 that's pushing two monitors so it's temps are higher than when I push a single monitor as I've noticed the increase myself. My 4850 pushing two displays was in the mid 50s and single monitor it was around 434-48ºC. My 6870 pushing two monitors looks like this
Posted Image

I'm running an NZXT Phantom case with about 10 11 ish fans inside my case to keep stuff cool when I OC (at stock atm).

#22
aikidoka25

aikidoka25

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 356 posts
Thanks TH3L4UGH1NGM4N, I am using Antec P180 (the original model), besides the 2 case fans, I added 2 more Noctua fans, however I set them to low voltage because I want to reduce the sound as much as possible.

I don't want to go OT further.

I put the graphic card upgrade project on hold because I read 6870 doesn't work with OSX 10.6.
I still have one 10.6 partition in the unit as a life boat to rescue the 10.8 partition when it happen.

Cheers!

#23
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
Lol, I know what you mean about hanging on to a 10.6 install as a life boat I do the same myself for those just in case moments. I guess your acoustic situation greatly differs from mine because I really don't hear the fans in my case unless my gpu ramps up then the fans spin harder to compensate for the heat. if you're sporting 10.6.8 though your 6870 should work because mine works just fine under Snow Leo albeit it being on a HDD.

#24
derpuma

derpuma

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
I do have Problems with my XFX Raedon HD 6870 Barts XT....
It still only gets recognized only as a Radeon HD 6xxx in Sysprofiler!

Your 10.8.0 kext did not do it for me. Any Ideas?
See my Settings:

Posted Image

Posted Image

#25
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
@derpuma It's because you're using the default framebuffer. You have to set your framebuffer like how I did mine for the Gibba framebuffer. It can bet set at either the bootloader prompt by doing AtiConfig=Gibba {or other framebuffer} or you can set it in your cham boot plist to avoid having to redundantly type in that same one liner.

Posted Image

#26
MikBe

MikBe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

@konjow Thanks man, also here's the edited one for 10.8 final release

http://cl.ly/1s3h380s2q08


I don't suppose you have one for 10.8.2? I've tried the 10.8.0 one with my Sapphire 6870 but it just hangs when booting.

I also tried adding some of the personality edits from 10.7.x to the 10.8.2 AMDController file in the ATI6000Controller.kext but no luck.

Thanks in advance for any help.

P.S. My card works from the DVI but not the HDMI.

#27
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
I could try if you send along the amd6000 kexts. I'm still on 10.8.1 because I'm too lazy to ever do the system update but I'll probably go to 10.8.3 once it's publicly released. Which brand of the 6870 are you running btw? I've tested both dvi ports and hdmi works on my card I'm yet to test the miniDP port but I'm probably gonna order me an adapter this week to see if they work as well.

#28
Fidoboy

Fidoboy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Okay I can give you my modified 6000controller to try out assuming your port layout is 2x DVI - HDMI - 2x miniDP (be sure to backup your existing one in the event this doesn't workout). Install do the permission setting and what not, restart, and then at the boot prompt type AtiPorts=5 and AtiConfig=Gibba to load up the Gibba framebuffer which I modified for my 6870 to work.

http://cl.ly/3m210d0i3R3x2N1t0N1h


Hello TH3L4UGH1NGM4N, trying to get the framebuffer working on my ATI HD 6870 and having tried all personalities starting with the default Duckweed i finally have arrived to this thread that looks promising. Unfortunately i've downloaded your modified kext and it doesn't work for me (mine is an ASUS ATI 6870), in fact, using your kext i lost all graphic acceleration. But i'm wondering if may be you can share the steps that you followed to modify the kext for yours and may be i can apply the same procedure with my card. Can you help me please?

Device ID: 0x6738
Manufacturer ID: 0x1002

Edited by Fidoboy, 07 March 2013 - 12:07 AM.


#29
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
Okay so I know that some 6870s prefer other FBs over some other ones so you might have to see which FB plays nicely with your card but for me I found the Gibba one did despite Duckweed being the favorite. To get it working though, I applied a Perl script to the amdcontroller that is within the Contents folder of the ATI6000Controller.kext itself.

Are you using the default framebuffer currently? Also what version of OS X are you using?

#30
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,991 posts
  • Gender:Male
See this:


Device (PEGP)

{

Name (_ADR, 0x00010000)

Method (_PRT, 0, NotSerialized)

{

If (PICM)

{

Return (AR02 ())

}

Return (PR02 ())

}

Method (_PRW, 0, NotSerialized)

{

Return (GPRW (0x09, 0x04))

}

Device (GFX0) /** for AMD Graphics Cards **/

{

Name (_ADR, Zero)

Name (_SUN, One)

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)

{

Store (Package (0x0C)

{

"@0,name",

Buffer (0x0D)

{

"ATY,Duckweed" /** Change to your framebuffer **/

},


"@1,name",

Buffer (0x0D)

{

"ATY,Duckweed" /** Change to your framebuffer **/

},


"@2,name",

Buffer (0x0D)

{

"ATY,Duckweed" /** Change to your framebuffer **/

},


"@3,name",

Buffer (0x0D)

{

"ATY,Duckweed" /** Change to your framebuffer **/

},


"model",

Buffer (0x13)

{

"AMD Radeon HD 6850" /** Change to your GPU Model **/

},


"hda-gfx",

Buffer (0x0A)

{

"onboard-1"

}

}, Local0)

DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))

Return (Local0)

}

}


Device (HDAU)

{

Name (_ADR, One)

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)

{

Store (Package (0x02)

{

"hda-gfx",

Buffer (0x0A)

{

"onboard-1"

}

}, Local0)

DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))

Return (Local0)

}

}

}


#31
Fidoboy

Fidoboy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Okay so I know that some 6870s prefer other FBs over some other ones so you might have to see which FB plays nicely with your card but for me I found the Gibba one did despite Duckweed being the favorite. To get it working though, I applied a Perl script to the amdcontroller that is within the Contents folder of the ATI6000Controller.kext itself.

Are you using the default framebuffer currently? Also what version of OS X are you using?


I'm using Lion 10.7.5 right now. I was using Duckweed in the past, i've changed into Gibba and it works fine also, but no framebuffer; the card is being identified as HD 6xxx in system info and can't get AfterEffects working.

See this:


Device (PEGP)

{

Name (_ADR, 0x00010000)

Method (_PRT, 0, NotSerialized)

{

If (PICM)

{

Return (AR02 ())

}

Return (PR02 ())

}

Method (_PRW, 0, NotSerialized)

{

Return (GPRW (0x09, 0x04))

}

Device (GFX0) /** for AMD Graphics Cards **/

{

Name (_ADR, Zero)

Name (_SUN, One)

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)

{

Store (Package (0x0C)

{

"@0,name",

Buffer (0x0D)

{

"ATY,Duckweed" /** Change to your framebuffer **/

},


"@1,name",

Buffer (0x0D)

{

"ATY,Duckweed" /** Change to your framebuffer **/

},


"@2,name",

Buffer (0x0D)

{

"ATY,Duckweed" /** Change to your framebuffer **/

},


"@3,name",

Buffer (0x0D)

{

"ATY,Duckweed" /** Change to your framebuffer **/

},


"model",

Buffer (0x13)

{

"AMD Radeon HD 6850" /** Change to your GPU Model **/

},


"hda-gfx",

Buffer (0x0A)

{

"onboard-1"

}

}, Local0)

DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))

Return (Local0)

}

}


Device (HDAU)

{

Name (_ADR, One)

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)

{

Store (Package (0x02)

{

"hda-gfx",

Buffer (0x0A)

{

"onboard-1"

}

}, Local0)

DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))

Return (Local0)

}

}

}


I'm sorry but.. What's that?? Where should i edit this file?

#32
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,991 posts
  • Gender:Male

I'm sorry but.. What's that?? Where should i edit this file?


Read my guide here:

http://rampagedev.wo...rd-into-a-dsdt/

#33
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
That is for your DSDT if you choose to get your card working that way.

If you want you can just send along your 6000 kext controller and I'll try patching it for you as well as explaining a bit more into it.

btw what do you plan on using AE for? I just recently started getting into it a few months back with CS6 finally supporting hardware acceleration with openCL cards (hello amd cards!) but I find it a bit odd at times to get work done I'd normally do in Final Cut Pro X.

#34
Fidoboy

Fidoboy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
Attached is my ATI6000Controller.kext i hope that you can patch it to make it work for my 6870 card. I need to use AE in Mac, Premiere is working with no problems but AE throws a GPUSniffer error and i've reader that it's because the framebuffer problem. I'm trying to get my graphic card identified correctly, cause right now, when i type:


ioreg | grep ATY

i get this:



| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@0 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000316, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (2778 ms), retain 7>
| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@1 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000317, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (5 ms), retain 7>
| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@2 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000318, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (5 ms), retain 7>
| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@3 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000319, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (5 ms), retain 7>
| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@4 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x10000031a, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (5 ms), retain 7>


I'll try to follow the ATI guide from Rampage's blog and i'll see if i'm unable to solve the problem. Thanks both for your help! :)

Read my guide here:

http://rampagedev.wo...rd-into-a-dsdt/


Hello Rampage, thanks for the info. I'm trying to follow your guide but i'm having some problems; for example, when you talk about locating the address location of nVidia (mine is ATI) i think that this is the info:

Posted Image

So mine is using PCI0 according to the info displayed using IORegistryExplorer (is this right??)

Next in your guide you open the .aml file to edit it using DSDT editor, but when i open this file, it is very different from your screenshot, what i get is this:

Posted Image

Also, in your code you talk about 'change to your framebuffer' and i'm not sure about what is my framebuffer. How can i know this? I was using Duckweed cause this is being used by default, but using Chameleon Wizard i can change it into Gibba or others and it works also.

So i'm not sure about how to follow the guide, cause as you can see, it's much different from yours. Can you tell me how to continue now?

kind regards,

Edited by Fidoboy, 07 March 2013 - 01:51 PM.


#35
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
Framebuffer being like Duckweed, Gibba, etc

Also you didn't attach the kext lol

#36
Fidoboy

Fidoboy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Framebuffer being like Duckweed, Gibba, etc

Also you didn't attach the kext lol


I can't understand why it's not attached in my previous post, sorry! Also i want to warn that i can't find DSDT for my motherboard (ASUS P5Q, i'm not sure if that matters!)

Attached Files


Edited by Fidoboy, 07 March 2013 - 03:41 PM.


#37
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
Some magician probably unattached it to toy with you. :P

Also you gotta actually make the DSDT you can extract it from windows or Linux.

Your kext btw and the command didn't work because you're back on the version of OS X when they used to call it ATIController now it's AMD >_>
http://cl.ly/0g1e1v020K30

#38
Fidoboy

Fidoboy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Some magician probably unattached it to toy with you. :P

Also you gotta actually make the DSDT you can extract it from windows or Linux.

Your kext btw and the command didn't work because you're back on the version of OS X when they used to call it ATIController now it's AMD >_>
http://cl.ly/0g1e1v020K30


I've just downloaded kexts from this post: http://legacy.tonyma...=317842#p317842 and now DVD Player and AfterEffects are working fine!! However, the framebuffer displayed seems to be wrong already:


| | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@0 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000003bd, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (44 ms), retain 7>
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@1 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000003be, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (5 ms), retain 7>
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@2 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000003bf, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (5 ms), retain 7>
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@3 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000003c0, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (5 ms), retain 7>

I'll try using your kext, i'm not sure about the AMD or ATI issues cause i always have my kexts named with ATI* i suppose that you are talking about Mountain Lion which i doesn't have.

regards,

#39
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
yeah mine is ML they changed it to AMD during one of those updates I've noticed. The kext you've installed though seems to be loading the Duckweed FB correctly for you. If it displays correctly in sys information then you're most likely good to go with that then.

#40
mactruk

mactruk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male

hello,

i need to know if XFX 6870 will work b/all ports simultaneously.

i have four monitors hooked up now and would like to the bottom DVI working also to have 5 monitors.

will the latest ATI6000Controller.kext that was posted here for 10.8 using Gibba and AtiConfig=5 work?

i am using 10.8.4.

 

current ATI6000Controller.kext : 

 

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...rtyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>BuildMachineOSBuild</key>
<string>12C49</string>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>AMD6000Controller</string>
<key>CFBundleGetInfoString</key>
<string>AMD6000Controller 8.0.61 11612</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.kext.AMD6000Controller</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundleName</key>
<string>Radeon HD 6000 Controller</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>KEXT</string>
<key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>
<string>8.0.61</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>DTCompiler</key>
<string></string>
<key>DTPlatformBuild</key>
<string>4F250</string>
<key>DTPlatformVersion</key>
<string>GM</string>
<key>DTSDKBuild</key>
<string>12C49</string>
<key>DTSDKName</key>
<string></string>
<key>DTXcode</key>
<string>0440</string>
<key>DTXcodeBuild</key>
<string>4F250</string>
<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>Controller</key>
<dict>
<key>ATY,Gibba</key>
<dict>
<key>aty_config</key>
<dict>
<key>CFG_NO_HDCP</key>
<true/>
<key>CFG_NO_PP</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>ATY,Lotus</key>
<dict>
<key>aty_config</key>
<dict>
<key>CFG_GEN_FLAGS</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>CFG_USE_STUTTER</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>ATY,Muskgrass</key>
<dict>
<key>aty_config</key>
<dict>
<key>CFG_GEN_FLAGS</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>CFG_USE_STUTTER</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.kext.AMD6000Controller</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AMD6000Controller</string>
<key>IOMatchCategory</key>
<string>IOFramebuffer</string>
<key>IOName</key>
<string>AMD6000Controller</string>
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x67681002 0x67701002 0x67791002 0x67601002 0x67611002 0x67501002 0x67581002 0x67591002 0x67401002 0x67411002 0x67451002 0x67381002 0x67391002 0x67201002 0x67221002 0x67181002 0x67191002 0x68401002 0x68411002 0x67041002</string>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>65050</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>aty_config</key>
<dict>
<key>CFG_CAA</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>CFG_CAIL_CAPS</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>CFG_FB_LIMIT</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>CFG_GEN_FLAGS</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>CFG_GRPH_CONTROL_DIS</key>
<integer>40964</integer>
<key>CFG_INT_SSPC</key>
<integer>25</integer>
<key>CFG_NO_HDCP</key>
<false/>
<key>CFG_NO_PP</key>
<false/>
<key>CFG_SURFACE_INFO_DIS</key>
<integer>1703936</integer>
<key>CFG_USE_FBC</key>
<false/>
<key>CFG_USE_STUTTER</key>
<false/>
<key>DALReadDelayStutterOff</key>
<integer>4</integer>
<key>DALUseUrgencyWaterMarkOffset</key>
<integer>0</integer>
</dict>
<key>aty_properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PP_ActivitySamplingInterval</key>
<integer>1000</integer>
<key>PP_DisablePowerContainment</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>PP_HighSamplingInterval</key>
<integer>200000</integer>
<key>PP_MCLKStutterModeThreshold</key>
<integer>30000</integer>
<key>PP_R600ActivityHysteresis</key>
<integer>5</integer>
<key>PP_R600LoweringHighPercentage</key>
<integer>25</integer>
<key>PP_R600LoweringMediumPercentage</key>
<integer>10</integer>
<key>PP_R600RaisingLowPercentage</key>
<integer>10</integer>
<key>PP_R600RaisingMediumPercentage</key>
<integer>25</integer>
<key>PP_R600VotingRightsClients</key>
<integer>12583475</integer>
<key>PP_UserMaxClockForMultiDisplays</key>
<integer>1</integer>
</dict>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>OSBundleCompatibleVersion</key>
<string>1.1.36</string>
<key>OSBundleLibraries</key>
<dict>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOACPIFamily</key>
<string>1.2</string>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily</key>
<string>1.3</string>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily</key>
<string>1.2</string>
<key>com.apple.kext.AMDSupport</key>
<string>1.1.36</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.bsd</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.iokit</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.libkern</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.mach</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
</dict>
<key>OSBundleRequired</key>
<string>Safe Boot</string>
</dict>
</plist>
 

 







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy