Jump to content

Upgrading from 10.6.2 to 10.6.8 Help

upgrading aa1 d150-1920

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
Hello all. I'm recently new to the OSX86. I have managed to get OSX 10.6.3 running almost flawlessly, I'm very happy with the install.


I would like to update it to 10.6.8. as stated above I'm new to the OSX86 and don't know the proper way to update the system, without breaking it.

I'm using an Acer AspireOne D150-1920

8086:2448--------82801 Mobile PCI Bridge
8086:27b9--------82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge
8086:27c8--------82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller
8086:27c9--------82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller
8086:27ca--------82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller
8086:27cb--------82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller
8086:27cc--------82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller
8086:27d0--------82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1
14e4:4315--------BCM4312 802.11b/g
8086:27d2--------82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2
8086:27d4--------82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 3
1969:1026--------Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethernet Controller
8086:27d8--------82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller
8086:27ae--------Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller
8086:27c5--------82801GBM/GHM(ICH7 Family) SATA AHCI Controller
8086:27da--------82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller
8086:27a6--------Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller
8086:27ac--------Mobile 945GME Express Memory Controller Hub

Thanks in Advance

#2
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
1. Clone your partition to another disk
2. Download combo update
3. Install combo update to the backup partition.
4. Once the backup partition is stable, repeat the process on your main installation.

#3
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
Would it be possible to use time machine and back-up my data, apply the update and if it completely fails revert back? If so how would I go about the restore if the update fails and the system doesn't boot? I'm okay with the cloning, however I don't have enough Free space laying around to do the procedures you suggested. My end goal was to use OSX as my main system, so my HDD only has one partition on it. Didn't want to mess with dual booting until I learned more about OSX.

Literally I'm brand new to OSX and MAC systems.

Edited by Gringo Vermelho, 21 February 2012 - 06:29 PM.
Redundant quote deleted. Don't quote entire posts when replying directly below them.


#4
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
If you are on Snow Leopard you can use disk utility to clone your partition.
You could always partition your HDD into 2. Once updated you can delete this second partition.

You cannot boot from a time machine backup and that is what we want to do. You need to create a bootable second installation which we can use to correct errors on the primary installation, should they arrise.

A time machine backup is great if your system goes down and you need to restore it to an earlier point in time, but using that method for updating will be very painful.

#5
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
10-4 I'll Start the cloning process meow, I'm going to assume that my boot loader will automatically detect the other partition and allow me to boot to it.... A feature that has been real handy since I've re-installed OSX 9 times in 2 days lol. Finally got most of the bugs worked out and would hate to re-install it again... Thanks I'll let you know how it works.

Edited by Gringo Vermelho, 14 February 2012 - 05:05 PM.
Redundant quote deleted. Don't quote entire posts when replying directly below them.


#6
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
Okay for documentation purposes, I booted my osx install cd and partitioned my HDD in half. Used the disk-utility and created a DMG of my OSX partition. Then restored it to the second partition, I've booted into the test partition and am currently downloading the combo update and will apply it. "Fingers Crossed"

#7
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
Tip:
If the combo update install should for some reason fail to install (it has for me more than once), boot into the other partition and use it to install the combo update to the other partition (the one you initially tried to install it on).

Sometimes the combo update just doesn't like being installed to the active/currently running partition.

#8
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
It installed fine. Now when I boot (-v) it's hanging up on [ PCI configuration begin ]

#9
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
Found This, tried downloading the files, however the site seems to be down from my end so I can't try this method, and its very vague.

http://www.insanelym...howtopic=253546

#10
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
Boot with the flags:
-v npci=0x2000

#11
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
[URL]http://img577.imageshack.us/i/imagervz.jpg

Still hangs at the same place.

#12
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
try npci=0x3000

#13
Markino76

Markino76

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
Some problem here with Asus 1015PN!
-v npci=2000 doesn't fix the problem. :(

#14
Mac_X

Mac_X

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
It should be
npci=0x2000

#15
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
Tired both npci=0x2000 & npci=0x3000

Still hangs in the same place.

Sorry for the delay had a baby born this past week and haven't got to tinker much.

#16
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
Congrats mate.
Try updating your boot loader to Chameleon 2.1 r1819 (available in the new releases sub-forum) then give it a go.
I can't remember exactly but I know that the 10.6.8 kernel had a lot of changes in prep for Lion, so a newer boot loader might help. It definitely won't hurt anyway.

#17
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
I hate to ask this but I'm mac stupid and still learning how would I replace or update my boot loader?

#18
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
If you have a look in the new releases sub-forum there is the announcement thread for chameleon 2.1 r1819, in the first post there is a link to the installer.
Just run that and it will do everything for you (make sure you target your OS X partition in the installer).

If your interested in learning to install manually, download the tar.gz, within this there will be instructions.
It is good to know how to do this just incase you are ever locked out but non-essential.

#19
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering
Thanks I'll get right on it and let you know the outcome.

#20
one0nine

one0nine

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Tinkering

Found This, tried downloading the files, however the site seems to be down from my end so I can't try this method, and its very vague.

http://www.insanelym...howtopic=253546


Alright as it turns out I was using the latest boot loader. I got the kexts from the above thread. The OS locked up when I tried to replace the kexts. So What I ended up doing was booting to my first partition and running the installer, changing the destination to my second partition, replacing the kexts and using disk utility to repair the permissions... It worked!!! However now my wireless is now not working and the GFX card is not working... What should I do now?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: upgrading, aa1, d150-1920


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy