Jump to content

Anyone successful with Asus P6T Deluxe V2?


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1
poleniuum

poleniuum

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Hello,

I have a p6t deluxe v2 (bios=version 1108), Nvidia GTX470, 12GB memory. I would like to clean install Lion DP2.

I tried with an XPC bootloader, but the install was hanging at [ PCI configuration begin ] during boot.

Does anyone have instructions on how do a successful install with my setup?

Thanks to everyone in advance.

#2
Alessandro17

Alessandro17

    Chief of Security

  • Administrators
  • 8,312 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sector 001, Italy
I don't own that (beautiful) board, but are you aware that DP3 has been out for a while and that the final release could be available very soon?

#3
poleniuum

poleniuum

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

......are you aware that DP3 has been out for a while and that the final release could be available very soon?


Yes I am aware. Actually spent a few hours trying to install DP3. Was hoping someone has a step by step for this MB/GPU (GTX470) combination. Following some instructions around here, I managed to get nowhere (used latest chameleon/XPC loaders). Install is failing with "can't find mach_kernel" error when trying to install DP3 USB drive.

Any ideas/guides to assist to get this rig to work would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks in advance.

#4
efimac

efimac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
I followed the procedure from here

http://www.insanelym...howtopic=256729

and then I copied the mach_kernel to the root of the usb key to install DP3.

#5
CJP2

CJP2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
No problems here installing DP3. I used the method in the post above and have Lion operating perfectly, at least as perfectly as this prerelease allows. Shutdown and Sleep are also functioning.

I used my DSDT from SL, I tried to use the Chameleon RC5 installer package from the link but that particular installer will only install onto a working OS so I just manually installed via Terminal the boot files from the i386 folder. I did have to copy the mach_kernel over to the USB stick for it to boot.

AppleVIAATA.kext (version 1.0.2) works in Lion (in /Extra) to get use of your FW and ATA controllers. I modified AppleYukon2.kext (within IONetworkingFamily.kext) adding our 88E8056 key to get ethernet working. Everything else works as it should with these kexts in /Extra:

AHCIPortInjector
FakeSMC
IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector

I have an external DAC so don't know about onboard audio but my Apple BT keyboard and Magic trackpad work as they should with a cheap USB BT dongle. GraphicsEnabler = Y worked for my 9400 GT and gives me dual DVI screens without any other injectors but you'll have to figure out what will make your 470 work. Before I added the GraphicsEnabler key in boot.plist I did get a functionally viewing screen at a fixed resolution on one monitor to work with.

Good luck, have fun.

#6
mikeosx86

mikeosx86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:antwerp, belgium

No problems here installing DP3. I used the method in the post above and have Lion operating perfectly, at least as perfectly as this prerelease allows. Shutdown and Sleep are also functioning.

I used my DSDT from SL, I tried to use the Chameleon RC5 installer package from the link but that particular installer will only install onto a working OS so I just manually installed via Terminal the boot files from the i386 folder. I did have to copy the mach_kernel over to the USB stick for it to boot.

AppleVIAATA.kext (version 1.0.2) works in Lion (in /Extra) to get use of your FW and ATA controllers. I modified AppleYukon2.kext (within IONetworkingFamily.kext) adding our 88E8056 key to get ethernet working. Everything else works as it should with these kexts in /Extra:

AHCIPortInjector
FakeSMC
IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector

I have an external DAC so don't know about onboard audio but my Apple BT keyboard and Magic trackpad work as they should with a cheap USB BT dongle. GraphicsEnabler = Y worked for my 9400 GT and gives me dual DVI screens without any other injectors but you'll have to figure out what will make your 470 work. Before I added the GraphicsEnabler key in boot.plist I did get a functionally viewing screen at a fixed resolution on one monitor to work with.

Good luck, have fun.



Hi, followed the same guide but am always stuck on "PCI Configuration begin". Any tips?

#7
CJP2

CJP2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
Not sure about that error as I've never seen it before on my board. Did you try with DP3?

I'm not bothering with DP4 as I've read it loses some functionality and most importantly - the real deal will be out in a month. Even then I probably won't switch to Lion right away until 7.3 comes out. As a long time Apple user I know the new OS will be buggy and I'll wait for both Apple and the gurus here to work it all out.

Good luck with your install though, fun trying at any rate.

#8
mikeosx86

mikeosx86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:antwerp, belgium

Not sure about that error as I've never seen it before on my board. Did you try with DP3?

I'm not bothering with DP4 as I've read it's more difficult to install, loses some functionality and most importantly - the real deal will be out in a month. Even then I probably won't switch to Lion right away until 7.3 comes out. As a long time Apple user I know the new OS will be buggy and I'll wait for both Apple and the gurus here to work it all out.

Good luck with your install though, fun trying at any rate.


Is there any easy way to roll back a failed Lion install? Guess I'm going to wait too.

#9
CJP2

CJP2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
Hopefully you installed onto a new blank partition or hd, so just wipe it and try installing DP3 from the beginning. BTW, newer releases of Chameleon work just fine so instead of using the terminal and installing the i386 files from the link you can just use Chameleon Wizard to make your drives bootable.

#10
mikeosx86

mikeosx86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:antwerp, belgium

Hopefully you installed onto a new blank partition or hd, so just wipe it and try installing DP3 from the beginning. BTW, newer releases of Chameleon work just fine so instead of using the terminal and installing the i386 files from the link you can just use Chameleon Wizard to make your drives bootable.


I did not :-S
But that's okay, making progress now.
It halts at "l2tp_udp_init_threads: changing # of threads from 0 to 7"

Then I get nstat_lookup_entry_failed: 2

Any suggestions are welcome :-)

#11
CJP2

CJP2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
I'm assuming then that you have data you need on the SL hd/partition that you tried to put Lion on then? If not then just wipe it and reinstall SL.

Otherwise you'll need another working mac or hack to get your info, preferably another working hd/partition in your case. From that working install you could try to use Migration Assistant to recover your user account. Not sure if it'll work with a beta version of Lion but it's sure worth a try. I did use Migration Assistant within Lion to bring over my user account which worked fine.

You might try to start a new post describing your installation process. Someone else must have tried to install over SL and might have more insight for your problem as I don't think it has to do as much with this particular board as it does your install.

In the meantime, try removing all but 4GB of your RAM, any extra PCI cards, unplugging your optical drive(s), extra hds and use the bare minimum of kexts in your /Extra folder on your USB stick (those listed in my original post). It could be any of these tripping up your boot process. Good luck.

#12
mikeosx86

mikeosx86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:antwerp, belgium

I'm assuming then that you have data you need on the SL hd/partition that you tried to put Lion on then? If not then just wipe it and reinstall SL.

Otherwise you'll need another working mac or hack to get your info, preferably another working hd/partition in your case. From that working install you could try to use Migration Assistant to recover your user account. Not sure if it'll work with a beta version of Lion but it's sure worth a try. I did use Migration Assistant within Lion to bring over my user account which worked fine.

You might try to start a new post describing your installation process. Someone else must have tried to install over SL and might have more insight for your problem as I don't think it has to do as much with this particular board as it does your install.

In the meantime, try removing all but 4GB of your RAM, any extra PCI cards, unplugging your optical drive(s), extra hds and use the bare minimum of kexts in your /Extra folder on your USB stick (those listed in my original post). It could be any of these tripping up your boot process. Good luck.


CJP2 thanks, it worked, boots very fast into lion.

Problems left:
- OnBoard Audio
- Firewire (it seems to be working, but when I connect my Firewire 1814 I get a panic / crash)

#13
CJP2

CJP2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
Glad to have helped. What was the solution then?

Can't help you with audio, never use onboard but here's the version of VIAATA.kext I use:
Attached File  AppleVIAATA.kext.zip   49.23KB   67 downloads

#14
mikeosx86

mikeosx86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:antwerp, belgium

Glad to have helped. What was the solution then?

Can't help you with audio, never use onboard but here's the version of VIAATA.kext I use:
Attached File  AppleVIAATA.kext.zip   49.23KB   67 downloads


Will try it later.
Solution: I have no real idea. Guess I solved it by doing trial and error like a madman.

:-)

#15
VultUx

VultUx

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brasil

I have a p6t deluxe v2 (bios=version 1108), Nvidia GTX470, 12GB memory. I would like to clean install Lion DP2.

I tried with an XPC bootloader, but the install was hanging at [ PCI configuration begin ] during boot.

Does anyone have instructions on how do a successful install with my setup?

I had sucessful with DP2 and all the updates, and now with DP4 (DP4 is almost perfect!).

My config is:

ASUS P6T
Core i7 930
12 GB RAM
GTX 460 - 768 MB
2 HDs 1.5 TB - SATA 2

Im using the last Chameleon release from here, with only FakeSMC kext from Netkas to boot, and after install Lion, I installed VoodooHDA 2.62 for audio and the network kext to Realtek 8169 from DP1 to have network.

The boot process stop in PCI Configuration msg too, but after around 20 seconds the Lion screen shows up.

If you want, I can upload to somewhere my DSDT, SMBIOS.plist and Boot.plist that Im using.

The DSDT from P6T and P6T Deluxe are very similar, I allready used booth and works.


ps.: sorry about my bad english.

#16
CJP2

CJP2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
vulto,

I'd be interested in your files if you can post them just to compare to what I have.

BTW, I've added ACPIMonitor.kext, IntelCPUMonitor.kext and SupeerIOFamily.kext to /Extra/Extensions to get CPU and northbridge temps via iStat so when I'm messing around with an OC I can monitor things on the Mac side.

#17
mikeosx86

mikeosx86

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:antwerp, belgium

I had sucessful with DP2 and all the updates, and now with DP4 (DP4 is almost perfect!).

My config is:

ASUS P6T
Core i7 930
12 GB RAM
GTX 460 - 768 MB
2 HDs 1.5 TB - SATA 2

Im using the last Chameleon release from here, with only FakeSMC kext from Netkas to boot, and after install Lion, I installed VoodooHDA 2.62 for audio and the network kext to Realtek 8169 from DP1 to have network.

The boot process stop in PCI Configuration msg too, but after around 20 seconds the Lion screen shows up.

If you want, I can upload to somewhere my DSDT, SMBIOS.plist and Boot.plist that Im using.

The DSDT from P6T and P6T Deluxe are very similar, I allready used booth and works.


ps.: sorry about my bad english.



Thanks for the audio tip: now my audio is working!

#18
VultUx

VultUx

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brasil

vulto,

I'd be interested in your files if you can post them just to compare to what I have.

BTW, I've added ACPIMonitor.kext, IntelCPUMonitor.kext and SupeerIOFamily.kext to /Extra/Extensions to get CPU and northbridge temps via iStat so when I'm messing around with an OC I can monitor things on the Mac side.

Hi,

Here the files Im using.

Attached File  dsdt.zip   19.62KB   53 downloads
smbios.plist
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd"><plist version="1.0"><dict>	<key>SMbiosvendor</key>	<string>Apple Inc.</string>	<key>SMbiosversion</key>	<string>MP31.88Z.006C</string>	<key>SMbiosdate</key>	<string>11/06/2009</string>	<key>SMboardmanufacturer</key>	<string>Apple Computer, Inc.</string>	<key>SMboardproduct</key>	<string>Mac-F2238AC8</string>	<key>SMmanufacturer</key>	<string>Apple Inc.</string>	<key>SMfamily</key> 	<string>MacPro</string> 	<key>SMproductname</key> 	<string>MacPro3,1</string> 	<key>SMserial</key>	<string>G87421B9085</string>	<key>SMsystemversion</key>	<string>1.0</string></dict></plist>
com.apple.Boot.plist
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd"><plist version="1.0"><dict>	<key>Kernel</key>	<string>mach_kernel</string>	<key>Kernel Flags</key>	<string>-v -usecache</string>	<key>Default Partition</key>	<string>hd(0,2)</string>	<key>Timeout</key>	<string>1</string>	<key>Quiet Boot</key>	<string>No</string>	<key>Graphics Mode</key>	<string>2560x1600x32</string>	<key>device-properties</key>	<string>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</string>	</dict></plist>


#19
CJP2

CJP2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
Interesting that you've got your product name for your board set at MacPro3,1. I've mine set at a 4,1 because of some dsdt editing I believe, I should keep notes so I remember why I do things at times.

I'll check out your dsdt later and see what sort of edits you've got going. Is it one from iFabio?

#20
vanisher

vanisher

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FRANCE

AppleVIAATA.kext (version 1.0.2) works in Lion (in /Extra) to get use of your FW and ATA controllers. I modified AppleYukon2.kext (within IONetworkingFamily.kext) adding our 88E8056 key to get ethernet working. Everything else works as it should with these kexts in /Extra:

AHCIPortInjector
FakeSMC
IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector


Hello, can you upload your file modified for the networking please ;-) (sorry for my bad english, i'm french)

Thanks.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy