Triple Boot Project: OS X 10.6, win7 Pro, Ubuntu 10.04

fragment137

8 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I'm new to the multi-boot scene. I've done a couple of dual boots with Windows/Ubuntu, but it's pretty user-friendly and I want to "stretch my legs" by throwing OS X in there... Here's my system info and what I've tried so far:

Hardware:

ASUS G51Jx-A1

Intel i7 Core 720QM 1.6Ghz

500GB SATA HDD

nVidia GTS360M

Audigy EAX Advanced HD 4.0

Software:

Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6 (Offical Retail)

Windows 7 Professional (Official Retail)

Ubuntu 10.04 (Directly from http://www.ubuntu.com/)

Nawcom's Darwin boot CD (With MBR Support!)

EasyBCD 2.0.2

UPDATED SEPT. 20TH 2010

I've read over countless tutorials and run into various issues, but I've wired it down to very specific steps for my system. I installed OS X first, using Nawcom and LOTS of help from this tutorial for the ASUS G51Jx-X3. It installed fine and aside from needing some configuration it runs very well.

I opted out of making my initial install on my internal HDD. Instead, I bought a cheap 80GB HDD and an external enclosure with an eSata port on it. This worked wonderfully! I have a full install on the external HDD and am currently working on installing it to my internal drive.

I ran into a problem with my G51JX-A1 when trying to boot without the cd... I had to specify for the kernel to only use 4gb of my 6gb's of ram, in order to initially get the OS to boot...

If you have an ASUS G51Jx-A1, have tried following the guide linked above, and are having trouble with the initial reboot BEFORE updating to 10.6.4, try using these bootflags:

mach_kernel rd=disk0sX -v -f maxmem=4096

Replace "disk0sX" with the location of your kernel. To check which partition it's on, there are a variety of methods listed around the site. These bootflags worked for me to get the External install running, so they should work for other G51Jx-A1's too!