Jump to content

[AMD] Installing Snow Leopard 10A432 on AMD System


  • Please log in to reply
181 replies to this topic

#141
CrimsonAngel

CrimsonAngel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
WE finally have a new kernel thanks to QooPz

http://www.insanelym...p;#entry1296830

#142
arya

arya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
yes but its still have some problem with on fly cpuid patch.. and 64 bit mode too :)

Thanx for the quick reply. Unfortunately I can only install it on a SATA or anything smaller than 128 Gig IDE drive. . .However, I've got it going great on an old 40 Gig IDE I ad laying around. . .

EDIT: btw, how can I tell if I'm running 64 bit???
EDIT EDIT: ioreg -p IODeviceTree -w0 -l | grep firmware-abi type that into a terminal and if you get EFI64 you're good to go.


you can try 64 bit mode with new qoopz kernel.. with -force64
you cab fell how fast 64 bit mode but lots of App get crash.... but you can see in activity monitor that you are running 64bit app (not kernel) its said intel (64bit) not just intel (in 32bit mode)

Posted Image


PS : you get EFI64 it because u are using PC EFI from netkas

#143
niel_orbenet

niel_orbenet

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

RESERVED

Do you have any working dsdt.aml...coz i can't find one...thanks

#144
deven_suicidal

deven_suicidal

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
Bro
I get my Retail working but PS2 :mouse dosen't work
IMG here
I used VoodooPS2Controller, since it's package so it installed into S/L/E therefore i copied back the kext file into Extra/Extensions and keyboard work but space bar as enter bar[ no idea what happened ] and the mouse didn't moved at all.
still trying to get those working by and putting kext again and again
need help :)

Attached Files



#145
me@home

me@home

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 335 posts

and my HDD didn't show up on the desktop, none HDD even not the main one....


simple: it's in FINDER - there you tell OSX to show hd's ! :wacko:

#146
roratonga

roratonga

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
hi, i installed snow leopard on 3 different ways now and everytime i get the same result: after restarting my screen is black and my keyboard turn off. so any ideas how to fix this problem? do i need any special kext for my mainboard?

amd x2 4850e
foxconn a7gm-s (amd 780g / sb700)
corsair xms2 2*2gb ddr2 800
foxconn 8800 gt (g92) 512 mb

greetz rora

#147
arya

arya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

hi, i installed snow leopard on 3 different ways now and everytime i get the same result: after restarting my screen is black and my keyboard turn off. so any ideas how to fix this problem? do i need any special kext for my mainboard?

amd x2 4850e
foxconn a7gm-s (amd 780g / sb700)
corsair xms2 2*2gb ddr2 800
foxconn 8800 gt (g92) 512 mb

greetz rora



are u sure u have place chipset driver, for your mobo or setiing HDD to AHCI mode, are u using Ps2 keyboard/mouse, try to use usb.. n have you set the setting for your VGA?

try to boot -v to find the problem

#148
roratonga

roratonga

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
first thanks for your tutorial snow leopard works now! the problem is my buggy dsdt.dsl so i get probs in compiling it to get a dsdt.aml. however, i updated my bios to the newest release and now snow leopard works without step 9 of your tutorial (without dsdt.aml).

my new problem is now that efi string for my grafics doesn't work, i can use nvenabler 64 but then there is no hardware acceleration, qe/ci support. any ideas? - and i know i can use dsdt to set up my grafics but as i said: there is no dsdt.aml because i can't compile it...

greetz rora

#149
jsl

jsl

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts

Installation report:

Thanks for mach_kernel.test7, I could install Snow on some AMD motherboards, though I used Chameleon RC3.
Chameleon "GraphicsEnabler=Yes" works with GeForce 7600/8600/9500/9600.
Radeon 2600XT works when device-propertis is set and X2000.kext is removed.

"GraphicsEnabler=Yes" works.
Asus M4A78 Plus
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3, AHCI
Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H, AHCI

"GraphicsEnabler=Yes" does not work and device-properties was needed.
Gigabyte GA-M720-US3, AHCI ( because PCIe is attached to PciRoot(0x0)/PCI(0x10,0x0) ? )
--- edit ---
DSDT is PciRoot(0x1)/PCI(0x10,0x0) and fixed by DSDT patch. - Thanks to Kabyl.

I installed all of them on working 10.5.x.
As I attach USB audio, I do not patch DSDT for sound.
VoodooPower (AMD patched) works . All the CPUs are K10 (Phenom, Athlon II) and arch=i386 (32 bit).


My motherboard is Asus M4A78 Plus which can work in Leopard 10.5.6 ~10.5.8.
However I can not install Snow Leopard 10.6 because I can not get its DSDT.aml properly.
Every time when I use DSDT_Patcher1.0.1e it always caused failure because errors over 200.
Can you provide me a working DSDT.aml or DSDT_fixed.txt of Asus M4A78 Plus in attached file ?

#150
obeythepharaoh

obeythepharaoh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Rapidshare downloads on the front page... most of them don't work anymore. Require a premium membership... can somebody please upload those elsewhere, like mediafire (?), or attached to a post in this thread...? That would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

#151
Rommel64

Rommel64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Rapidshare downloads on the front page... most of them don't work anymore. Require a premium membership... can somebody please upload those elsewhere, like mediafire (?), or attached to a post in this thread...? That would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.



They all work, you just have to wait for an open slot it took me all day to get all of them. LOL

#152
sarkdog

sarkdog

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
I don't have a dual layered dvd so my question is, can I use iDeneb or any other release but just install the base of it, without other kexts and stuff?

#153
Covernuo

Covernuo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
I can't get the cpuids,so i can't patch two of them...help

#154
Suneru

Suneru

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
please help me, error
Posted Image

all steps, dsdt.aml from dsdt pathergui , replace boot, amd_kernel -x32 -v -s -x... phenom 9500, amd 690v/sb600...
please help;

ps: chameleon rc2, chameleon rc3 all is even error...

#155
k2dragon

k2dragon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted Image


Before we begin to install Snow leopard On AMD system we need to prepare some file :

1. Kernel : Because AMD cant boot with vanila kernel..
for me the most success kernel is mach_kernel.test7 from modbin.
test7 its because its kernel number 7 i have test from modbin (all other kernel get me a KP)
you can get the kernel : here
2. Chameleon rc 2.640 pkg... you can get it from their website or : here
3. boot file to replace chameleon 2 boot file : here
4. DSDT.aml for your system. Google it to find out how
you will need a cmos reset fix in your DSDT.aml, DSDT patch also can be use to make your HDA sound working with vanilla AppleHDA.kext
5. Some kext like:

dsmos.kext - required to decrypt encrypted binaries
NullCPUPowerManagement.kext - attaches in place of the real AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement which doesn't work right on PCs (kernel panic, cpu running hot)
OpenHaltRestart.kext - very simple kext that makes reboot and shutdown work on PCs
PlatformUUID.kext - sets the platform UUID so that you have a uniform UUID from the very start of the boot.. this UUID is used in your preferences files (among other things) and I think it is important for a clean install to have this right from the first boot.

you can get it here

and you will need a snow leopard 10A432 dmg

Next Step Installing Snow...
(install from a working leopard)
1. prepare an empty volume with disk utilities n get the uuid of the volume in this sample name it "snow''

Make sure that the new volume's root directory is owned by the root user.
chown 0:0 /Volumes/Snow

2. Mount the installer
a. if you have a GPT (GUUID Partition Table)
mount the snow leopard installation dmg/iso
open /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Install\ DVD/System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg

b. if you have an MBR partition u need to edit the OSInstall.mpkg or you can download : here
u can restore the dmg/iso to an empty partition and change the Osinstall.mpkg its located on /Volume/"some volume name"/System/Installation/Packages/
run the Os install.mpkg

3. Install Snow leopard to targeted volume
4. Install Chameleon Rc 2.640 to targeted volume.
5. Replace the boot file
5. Place the new kernel in the root of volume
6. create an smbios.plist and place in to /Extra (in the targeted volume)
this is the dummy:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
	<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
	<plist version="1.0">
	<dict>
		<key>SMbiosvendor</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>SMbiosversion</key>
		<string>MP21.88Z.005C.B01.0608221120</string>
		<key>SMbiosdate</key>
		<string>04/01/2008</string>
		<key>SMboardmanufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Computer, Inc.</string>
		<key>SMboardproduct</key>
		<string>Mac-F4208DC8</string>
		<key>SMfamily</key>
		<string>MacPro</string>
		<key>SMmanufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>SMproductname</key>
		<string>MacPro2,1</string>
		<key>SMserial</key>
		<string>W88033AKY51</string>
		<key>SMsystemversion</key>
		<string>1.0</string>
		<key>SMUUID</key>
		<string>00000000-0000-1000-8000-000000000000</string>
		<key>SMmemtype</key>
		<string>19</string>
		<key>SMmemspeed</key>
		<string>800</string>
		<key>SMmemmanufacter</key>
		<string>Apple Computer Inc.</string>
		<key>SMmemserial</key>
		<string>100000000</string>
		<key>SMmempart</key>
		<string>1</string>
	<!--
		<key>SMexternalclock</key>
		<string></string>
		<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
		<string></string>
	-->
	</dict>
	</plist>
change the UUID with volume UUID that u have before (point 1)
also place the UUID in the PlatformUUID.kext its located on PlatformUUID.kext/content/info.plist

7. Place dmos.kext, PlatformUUID.kext, Openhaltrestart.kext, NullCPUPowerManagement.kext in /Extra/Extensions/
8. Edit your /extra/com.apple.Boot.plist
this is just a sample with EfiString for my nVidia Geforce 9600 GT
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
	<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
	<plist version="1.0">
	<dict>
		<key>Kernel</key>
		<string>mach_kernel.test7</string>
		<key>Kernel Flags</key>
		<string></string>
		<key>Timeout</key>
		<string>5</string>
		<key>device-properties</key>
		<string>6c0200000100000001000000600200000d00000002010c00d041030a01000000010106000010
 0101060000007fff04000e0000004e00560050004d00000020000000010000000000000000000000
0
 0000000000000000000000000000000220000005600520041004d002c0074006f00740061006c007
3
 0069007a006500000008000000000000201c0000006400650076006900630065005f007400790070
0
 0650000000f0000004e5644412c506172656e740e0000006e0061006d00650000000b00000064697
3
 706c617922000000400030002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b00
0
 000646973706c617922000000400031002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650
0
 00000b000000646973706c6179100000006d006f00640065006c0000001a0000006e566964696120
4
 765466f726365203936303020475420000000400031002c0063006f006d007000610074006900620
0
 6c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d616314000000400030002c006e0061006d0065000000
1
 20000004e5644412c446973706c61792d4114000000400031002c006e0061006d006500000012000
0
 004e5644412c446973706c61792d4220000000400030002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062
0
 06c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d6163100000004e00560043004100500000001800000
0
 04000000000003000c00000000000007000000001e00000072006f006d002d007200650076006900
7
 30069006f006e0000002e0000006e5669646961204765466f7263652039363030204754204f70656
e
 474c20456e67696e65205b4546495d</string>
	</dict>
	</plist>
9. Place your fixed DSDT.aml in the root of targeted volume
10. if you have other kext like voodooHDA or sumthing you can also install it (i use dsdt to get my sound working)

11. Reboot your PC and boot from targeted volume

Good Luck....



I am installing on my
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ / 2.5 GHz
4GB
NVIDIA GeForce 6150 / nForce 430.
The EFI does not have my card. What should I do?
Also I am trying to install Snow Leopard on a USB Hard Drive, will it work?
Right now I am getting
>80000080
<00000002
000000C1
00000048
*<00064028
J

#156
thatoneguy

thatoneguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
First off, awesome guide Arya. I used a distro for my Leopard install, so I quite enjoyed tinkering with the innards of the OS rather than just checking boxes.

It installed fine on my system and I can boot into it. However, I have no PS/2 support for my mouse (my PS/2 keyboard works). I have tried the VoohooPS2Controller as well as a hacked version of the ApplePS2Controller and still nothing. Is there another kext that will take care of this or could I edit the dsdt.aml to get it working? I borrowed a USB mouse for the time being and even that is jittery and nigh uncontrollable.
Also, everything runs incredibly slow. The boot times are ridiculous and everything is choppy, the dock, genie effects, opening programs, etc. How can I fix this?
As a sidenote, I used dsdtse for dsdt.aml editing and booting with that file doesn't seem to do anything.

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

#157
WaPeR

WaPeR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Huelva, Spain
I can't find my videocard in EFIstudio, what i need to do in my PC to work with my Ati HD4670?

thanks!

#158
thatoneguy

thatoneguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

I borrowed a USB mouse for the time being and even that is jittery and nigh uncontrollable.
Also, everything runs incredibly slow. The boot times are ridiculous and everything is choppy, the dock, genie effects, opening programs, etc. How can I fix this?

Fixed.
The folks at Evosx86 said that you either want you EFI string in the com.apple.Boot.plist or in the DSDT.aml, but not in both places. I removed the EFI string and no more jittery mouse or choppy programs.

#159
asasyx

asasyx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Can it be installed without the earlier versions of os x. Next to windows or clean hdd?

#160
elwin00

elwin00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia

Can it be installed without the earlier versions of os x. Next to windows or clean hdd?


I wanted to ask the same thing. Is there a way to install 10.6 on AMD without having previous version already installed? Perhaps with working virtual machine..





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy