Jump to content

[GUIDE] QE/CI with ATI Radeon 2400XT 0x94c1


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#21
nescha

nescha

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

I'm trying on Snow, if I'll find a method, I'll post it.

Actually I have Core Image OK, but not Quartz Extreme (strange thing).


Giorgio


Can you explain how to get Core Image?

#22
Giorgio_multi

Giorgio_multi

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 9,514 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italy
  • Interests:Elettronica in genere, informatica e Sistemi Operativi in particolare. Cani da slitta e Sleddog....

Can you explain how to get Core Image?



With the Efistring in the com.apple.Boot.plist posted and deleteing ATIRadeonX2000.kext.

Giorgio

#23
Psqad

Psqad

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
thx Giorgio for this nice how-to .. it solved my "AppleIntelCPUPowermanagement timed out" thingy .. and it is now starting up :)
for the hd2400:
as a newbie, it was not trivial for some things, so for the following newbies:
to change the info.plist of ATIRadeonX2000.kext 0x94c11002 with 0x94c31002 in the d/l one, show content and then you'll find the info.plist
the other thing is in step 2) overwrite the com.apple.boot.plist, on my system there is no such plist. anyway i putted the file there and when i rebooted wiht F8 -v -f , i saw that it was working.
however my QE isnot working (tried to open iMovie) yet ..
also, i have chameleon 2.0 but i cannot find the extra folder, even when i search for th plist --> it returns the one i d/l .. well i found one in / folder (my hdd is called OSX, so it is located OSX/com.apple.boot.plist) if someone can shine some light, well thank you.
i am happy that my osx is starting up ;)

edit: some specs:
Chipsetmodel: ATI Radeon HD 2400
Type: Beeldscherm
Bus: PCIe
Sleuf: Slot-1
Breedte PCIe-baan: x16
VRAM (totaal): 256 MB
Fabrikant: ATI (0x1002)
Apparaatcode: 0x94c3
Revisiecode: 0x0000
ROM-revisie: 113-B1480A-236
Versie EFI-besturingsbestand: 01.00.236
Beeldschermen:
Beeldscherm:
Resolutie: 1024 x 768
Diepte: 32-bits kleur
Core Image: Software
Hoofdbeeldscherm: Ja
Synchrone weergave: Uit
Online: Ja
Quartz Extreme: Niet ondersteund
Beeldschermconnector:

Systeemsoftwareoverzicht:

Systeemversie: Mac OS X 10.5.8 (9L30)
Kernelversie: Darwin 9.5.0
Opstartvolume: OSX
Opstartmodus: Normaal
Computernaam: Hackintosh

#24
dtkenmo

dtkenmo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I've been struggling with my HD2400Pro for some time now. Now, I have hardware that has been problematic. I had been using using this graphic card on another motherboard under a Zephyroth 10.5.2 install and it worked flawlessly... but then the mobo's SATA controller mysteriously stopped working & I replaced the mobo with what I have now. And my Zephyroth install didn't work properly with it and reinstall attempts failed with various panics & other problems.

I decided to go with a more up to date distro and tried a number of 10.5.x but had trouble with all of them until finally tried iDeneb 1.4 10.5.6 and everything worked... except the HD2400 ^_^

Well I learned a lot trying to get that going. The best I could get was the "blank blue screen with pointer" problem where, after wake from sleep, I'd get the full desktop, but at the wrong resolution. Upon opening the display preferences, it would briefly flash to some other resolution, then the display would mess up And I'd have to hit option-command-eject to restart the system. I then skipped release 1.5.1 & went to iDeneb 1.6 10.5.8 where I learned a whole bunch about different kernels as the default would panic at boot on the CD. AnV turned ot to be the most stable for me but still no joy w/HD2400.

I tried a number of fixes I found in my researches but still no luck. Now I just tried following this guide (very clear step by step guide, good one, Georgio!) and now I get scrambled video when it comes up. I can get it up in safe mode but of course only 1024x768 etc. The scrambled looks kinda cool though though :angel: :

Posted Image

So I have restored to the previous state of no kext loaded and continue to search for a solution...

#25
samhl

samhl

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
10.5.8 => got the same picture like dtkenmo with the ATIRadeonX2000.kext from the download installed.
- Yes i have delete the old one before
- yes i have change the id into 94c31002 (i have the HD2400pro)
- yes i have replace the com.apple.boot.plist
- no i dont have any natit in the system
- anv is my default kernel (9.7.x)

but it looks like the picture dtkenmo postet. any ideas?

#26
Giorgio_multi

Giorgio_multi

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 9,514 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italy
  • Interests:Elettronica in genere, informatica e Sistemi Operativi in particolare. Cani da slitta e Sleddog....

10.5.8 => got the same picture like dtkenmo with the ATIRadeonX2000.kext from the download installed.
- Yes i have delete the old one before
- yes i have change the id into 94c31002 (i have the HD2400pro)
- yes i have replace the com.apple.boot.plist
- no i dont have any natit in the system
- anv is my default kernel (9.7.x)

but it looks like the picture dtkenmo postet. any ideas?


Try to repair permissions

Giorgio

#27
samhl

samhl

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
i have try ... but no success. It's crazy: this screen appears on every try to ad the 94c31002 ID into my info.plist
on every hint i found in the forum - ervytime i add my ID into the file, my machine boots up with this screen. If i boot in safemode and delete my entry in the same kext - next start is going fine (without QE/CI of course)

does it matter that my card is a sapphire ATI radeon HD 2400 Pro ?

#28
Giorgio_multi

Giorgio_multi

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 9,514 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italy
  • Interests:Elettronica in genere, informatica e Sistemi Operativi in particolare. Cani da slitta e Sleddog....

i have try ... but no success. It's crazy: this screen appears on every try to ad the 94c31002 ID into my info.plist
on every hint i found in the forum - ervytime i add my ID into the file, my machine boots up with this screen. If i boot in safemode and delete my entry in the same kext - next start is going fine (without QE/CI of course)

does it matter that my card is a sapphire ATI radeon HD 2400 Pro ?


Also my card is a sapphire ATI radeon HD 2400 Pro.

Giorgio

#29
quietguy

quietguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I know this guide is for Leopard, but was wondering.... Is there an solution for HD 2400XT for Snow Leopard?

I just want an clear answer for it if someone please...





Thanks

#30
Ritmoh

Ritmoh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

10.5.8 => got the same picture like dtkenmo with the ATIRadeonX2000.kext from the download installed.
- Yes i have delete the old one before
- yes i have change the id into 94c31002 (i have the HD2400pro)
- yes i have replace the com.apple.boot.plist
- no i dont have any natit in the system
- anv is my default kernel (9.7.x)

but it looks like the picture dtkenmo postet. any ideas?

So after couple days of trying everything got it working. Try to open EfiStudio and replace all Iagos to Megalodons yourself and then write from there to the boo.plist. Then boot with -v -f.

Good luck!

btw. I have iPc 10.5.6 install that I updated to 10.5.7 and anv 9.6.0 v1.4 kernel if that helps. Gonna now update to 10.5.8 hopefully everything is still gonna work.

Edit: Celebrated too early the pkg. installer isn't working. Anyone got solution for that?

#31
Giorgio_multi

Giorgio_multi

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 9,514 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italy
  • Interests:Elettronica in genere, informatica e Sistemi Operativi in particolare. Cani da slitta e Sleddog....

I've change the id in ATI2400Controler.kext with my and and put efi string in com.apple.boot.plist, now I have resolution 1680x1050 but no hardware acceleration.


In Snow 2400 (XT and PRO) don't works, only resolution change.

Giorgio

#32
joris6

joris6

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Is there a method for a voodoo kernel? I got 10.5.7 (intel) but have a screen freeze (just strange colors) :(

#33
play736

play736

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

ATI Radeon 2400XT (94c1)

For Leopard 10.5.7:

VERY IMPORTANT: with AMD CPU, with Leopard 10.5.7 and 10.5.8 this method works only with anv kernel, with voodoo kernel there is the screen freeze.

Download this: Posted Image 2400xt_10.5.7.zip ( 383.25K ) Number of downloads: 47


From a clean installation of Leopard 10.5.7 or an upgrade:

1) Delete ATIRadeonX2000.kext from /System/Library/Extensions and install the one downloaded with kexthelper

2) Overwrite com.apple.Boot.plist in /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration with the one downloaded (you need root privileges); if you have chameleon 2.0 RC1 you can also overwrite com.apple.Boot.plist in the Extra folder.

3) delete natit.kext (if You have it in /System/Library/Extensions)

reboot with -v -f

QE/CI should be enabled.

This method works also with Leopard 10.5.8. With AMD CPU this method works only with anv kernel, with voodoo kernel the video freeze.

For HD2400 Pro change in the info.plist of ATIRadeonX2000.kext 0x94c11002 with 0x94c31002

Giorgio


Hi Giorgio,

I'm also getting a scrambled black screen like dtkenmo. I followed your instructions exactly tried it on 10.5.7 & 10.5.8 both not working.

AMD x2, 4GB, ATI Radeon 2400 XT 0x94c1, Anv 9.7.0 Kernel, Chameleon 2.0

#34
ffxireks

ffxireks

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Hi guys. I have been reading through all these threads about the ati hd 2400 pro problems and i am trying to get QE/CI to work but like you guys experinced i got the screen with garbled out put after boot up too but then... I found the FIX!!!!! I changed the device id in the AtiRadeonX2000.kext/info.plist then in the com.apple.boot.plist i added the lines <key>GraphicsEnabler</key><string>y<string> then installed Triakis_2400_2600_3800.zip, then deleted the extension.mkext. I rebooted and i can change the resolutions and i have full QE/CI support. Im running iAtkos v7 with an Ati HD 2400 Pro device id 094c3.

#35
pagaille

pagaille

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Wonderful ffxireks ! I'll try one of these days... Thanks for sharing.

Pagaille

#36
zeeps

zeeps

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hi guys. I have been reading through all these threads about the ati hd 2400 pro problems and i am trying to get QE/CI to work but like you guys experinced i got the screen with garbled out put after boot up too but then... I found the FIX!!!!! I changed the device id in the AtiRadeonX2000.kext/info.plist then in the com.apple.boot.plist i added the lines <key>GraphicsEnabler</key><string>y<string> then installed Triakis_2400_2600_3800.zip, then deleted the extension.mkext. I rebooted and i can change the resolutions and i have full QE/CI support. Im running iAtkos v7 with an Ati HD 2400 Pro device id 094c3.


I get the same garbled screen as the others then a blue screen followed by a white screen.

Where do I get Triakis_2400_2600_3800.zip?

#37
ffxireks

ffxireks

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

I get the same garbled screen as the others then a blue screen followed by a white screen.

Where do I get Triakis_2400_2600_3800.zip?


Ill upload it here too. Try this and see if it works.

Attached Files



#38
isometadone

isometadone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
funziona anche con hd 2400 mobile?

#39
Giorgio_multi

Giorgio_multi

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 9,514 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italy
  • Interests:Elettronica in genere, informatica e Sistemi Operativi in particolare. Cani da slitta e Sleddog....

funziona anche con hd 2400 mobile?


No, with mobile series don't works.

Scusa, intervieni nella guida inglese in italiano, perchè non lo hai fatto sulla guida italiana?

#40
Rafael Cardoso

Rafael Cardoso

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Hey, I got the ATI Radeon 2400XT working on Snow Leopard with QE/CI. MAGIC! :P

Here is the post that I explain what I did:
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=230100





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy