OS X Server on HP Proliant

reebzor

14 posts in this topic

I'm very new to the osx86 project, but very familiar with OS X.

For years I've dreamed of having an Xserve, but cannot afford one. I am getting sick of my Windows domain and would like to attempt to install OS X 10.5 server on my HP Proliant DL360 G3. Is this possible (I'm guessing yes)? Is it feasible (I'm guessing probably not)? Where should I start?

Thanks guys.

I'm very new to the osx86 project, but very familiar with OS X.

For years I've dreamed of having an Xserve, but cannot afford one. I am getting sick of my Windows domain and would like to attempt to install OS X 10.5 server on my HP Proliant DL360 G3. Is this possible (I'm guessing yes)? Is it feasible (I'm guessing probably not)? Where should I start?

Thanks guys.

I have OS X Server 10.5.7 Retail running on a HP Proliant ML110 G5 (Xeon 3065). I am in the process of writing a tutorial. I should try finishing it off.

Basically, get a compatible graphics card and network card installed first. Then you need to install the client software first. This means you need both Leopard and Leopard Server install disks. Get your internet connection sorted out and then install the server packages (from the latest 10.5.4 disk) and let Software Update sort out the rest. I am not sure what the hardware differences between mine and your server is, but I would assume it is doable.

post-259482-1250539121_thumb.jpg

I have OS X Server 10.5.7 Retail running on a HP Proliant ML110 G5 (Xeon 3065). I am in the process of writing a tutorial. I should try finishing it off.