How to fix boot loader on my hackintosh after a time machine restore?

thepunkerguy

4 posts in this topic

Alright, well I was playing with some kexts the other day and ended up being stuck at a mac load screen with a slashed out circle through it. So from there I did a time machine restore which I had on my USB hard drive. The restore went all the way through, but when it was done and the computer restarted, all I get left with is a blinky cursor. I am guessing this means the boot loader is goobered up. I guess time machine doesn't restore that correctly for hackintosh's?

I used the Kalyway Leopard cd to install OSX using a GUID and the EFI boot loader, So i guess the EFI boot loader needs to be reloaded some how? How can I easily do this and get back into my restored OSX installation?? Detailed instructions on what to do / type would be great because I am still learning OSX and am not sure what most of the terminal commands do! Thanks guys!! I really want to get back into this thing!!

- Mike

You need to install the efi bootloader again. Try this script on this page:

http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?sho...mp;#entry614798

With the motherboard I have (BADAXE2) for GUID, I need to insall version7, then version8

If you have that board use my versin of his script here: http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?sho...6014&st=780

Also, for these forums add a signature with info about what computer you are trying to install on, so it's easier to help you. Threads without that needed info often get ignored.

Chris