x86 install of Leopard on a T2542 e-machine

AppleBite

5 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone,

I am an avid mac user, and EULA follower. Presently I have an irritating problem that others might enjoy the history of -- and an x86 install of Leopard that I would like some pointers on.

I bought an Ibook a couple of years back to attend college, and the logic board died -- so I bought a second one as backup while my first one was being repaired under warranty. After getting the original computer back, a little while later, the hard drive failed -- so I replaced it.

No major problems for about two years -- then my second iBook's hard drive died just before December 2007. So, I figure a new hard drive -- no problem.

Then I graduated and am trying to get work, when I happily found people who love custom mac programming. So I got started recently with my iBook with the new hard drive -- when lo and behold the logic board died on it too. Now on the backup computer the hard drive is dying again, and the logic board is going flaky again -- I have strung two customers out due to the apple failures (perpetual), and I think you get the picture about what I think about buying another mac right now --- (ps. i'm broke.). Thats more than 4 failures in three years -- Ick.

So, I have TWO legal apple logos from the laptop screens, (which still work), and one is now mounted on my old e-machine 2542 which used to run Linux.

(I bought the macs for Unix + Microsoft word for college -- but unfortunately, the work I do is on Macs. Gnustep doesn't quite cut it.)

Ps. I'm a BSEE with no money but some time right now... and some customers who would love to pay me for finished work....

Since I wish to obey the EULA, and if Apple sues -- :) DMCA reverse engineering is legal -- So I downloaded the BrazilMac patch and I own a single user copy of Leopard from Apple.