Best Version of Tiger to use for Noob?

Poison Girl

1 post in this topic

Well, I am a noob to this. I have been a PC person since I was 4, and just last summer started to use macs. I have a great first gen MacBook with Tiger, have been thinking of upgrading to Leopard but don't have the cash yet and I'm not sure if I really need to switch either. I have been wanting to get away from PCs though, and need to keep at least one of them (desktop or laptop) as windows (could be dual-boot), but I couldn't decide which system to use as my OSx86 system.

;)

I was thinking of just installing onto USB External HDD so that I wasn't dealing with installation onto the same internal hard drive as windows (I might test that out later on after I have first mastered installing a Mac OSX version onto something I can totally reformat at anytime). So while I was looking at the Leopard DVD installs, I thought it might be best to try something that has been around a bit longer and has less bugs in the install/running of the system. I would like to try one of the latest versions of Tiger (10.4.10 if possible) but I have no clue as to what I am doing with the instructions I see, so I want something that is fairly easy to install and that doesn't have too many complications with the system after install (let's me use it to the fullest degree). Obviously, different DVD installs are done by different people, so giving me a couple good "names" would help alot. I have no idea if my install on a USB HDD would be affected by my choice desktop ot laptop "host" system which I might run it off of, or if I might be able to unplug the USB and just connect it to another computer system and run it off of that one (possibly needing to change the boot style of the "host" system I guess).