Basic setup questions

Desides

7 posts in this topic

As the title states, I'm new to the OSX86 deal. I've read through some of the guides here, but I'm not really sure how to proceed, so let me write out what I'm doing.

I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop with the following specs:

1.6 Ghz Pentium M (SSE2)

1 GB DDR2 RAM

ATi Mobility Radeon X300 128MB (PCI-E)

SigmaTel C-Major Audio onboard sound

Intel 2915ABG wireless chipset

Broadcom 10/100 ethernet port

1680x1050 desktop resolution

I want to dual boot with Windows XP SP2 (and SP3 when that comes out) and Leopard 10.5.1. Most of the dual-booting guides I've found presume that you have a pre-existing Tiger installation. (I don't.)

Here are my questions:

1. I'm currently downloading the ToH 9A581 ISO. Is this appropriate for my machine? Should I wait for an SSE2 release of the new iATKOS version?

2. Why should I want to use EFI? Does the ToH 9A581 version include EFI? If not, how would I implement it?

3. What special patches, if any, would I need to ensure that my hardware works?

4. When setting up my OS installations, do I install XP or Leopard first?

I assure everyone I've read as much as I can before posting this, but I just don't see any clear answers. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out.