Latitude X1 Installation

fixarvesslan

11 posts in this topic

Hello,

I'm very new to OS X and would love to try it out on my Dell Latitude X1.

This is what i have done so far:

- Burned the macosx_10.4.3_8f1111_for_dtk_userdvd.iso with the JaS.1111a.Generic.Patch.V4.2b.ppf patch onto a DvD.

- Created an empty primary partition.

- Attemped to boot with the disc. Then I get the "white-bg-whit-the-grey-apple-logo-screen" and the wheel under it spins around for a while, then the screen goes light blue, and the nothing happens.

- Booted with x-flag, same result.

Is there anyone out there who has installed OSX86 on a X1, or anyone who can think of what might be wrong?

i tried it, but gave up in the end

so if it is possible i really would like to know

installtion tels me the hardware is not compatable.. i think its the cpu

Yeah I got that to, but make sure you have the patched iso and that you have created an empty primary partition and Darwin should at least let you boot.

Yeah I got that to, but make sure you have the patched iso and that you have created an empty primary partition and Darwin should at least let you boot.

hmm i didn't see your last comment in that post i linked to. i guess it doesn't work with the latitude x1 after all. darn it! i just bought a latitude and was hoping to be able to try 10.4.3 on it. i'll try installing it anyway when my x1 arrives. btw, what's your opinion about the x1, good laptop overall?

perhaps osx doesn't work on the x1 is because the cd-rom drive is external usb and maybe it's not supported or there's a bug.

hmm i didn't see your last comment in that post i linked to. i guess it doesn't work with the latitude x1 after all. darn it! i just bought a latitude and was hoping to be able to try 10.4.3 on it. i'll try installing it anyway when my x1 arrives. btw, what's your opinion about the x1, good laptop overall?