can i install mac osx86 on my pc ?

smooth3006

8 posts in this topic

i want to try to install osx on my pc. i downloaded the macnub 10.4.10 build.

here are my pc specs :

intel e6550 core 2 duo 2.33ghz cpu.

nvidia geforce 8600 gt 512mb.

2 gb ddr2 ocz ram.

gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L board.

160gb western digital sata 3.0gbs hdd.

soundblaster audigy se.

currently dual booting xp 64bit / vistas ultimate.

160 gb western digital external usb hdd.

onboard realtek gigabit ethernet rtl8168b / 8111b

onboard realtek high definition audio.

i can't find a specific thread on here that would help me with my current pc specs.

i need an install guide and want to make sure if i downloaded the right osx version ?

what will work on my pc and what won't ?

please guys, any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

Smooth- I'm no expert (Noob here also) but everything I have read about the tiger installs all state that the 8800 series GPUs are not supported . There is also the fact that it is a 512 MB card. that would require a special GPU BIOS flash.

Smooth- I'm no expert (Noob here also) but everything I have read about the tiger installs all state that the 8800 series GPUs are not supported . There is also the fact that it is a 512 MB card. that would require a special GPU BIOS flash.

im mostly wondering about my mobo and sata hdd ? i have a 8600gt card not a 8800, so the gpu won't work either ?

Smooth-

My mistake. 8600 instead of the 8800. The problem remains in that none of the 8000 series is supported by the Tiger installs. There may be kekts or patches that can override this, but I would not know anything about that. As for your mobo and HDD, I think they should work just fine. Again- I'm no expert. I can't even get my intel D975XBX2 mobo to read any install disks despite it being HIGHLY recommended by experts on this site. I need help just like you. I just hope someone smarter than me can help us both. :(