Major Problem installing JAS 10.4.8

SamuelB

6 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, my name is Samuel and I am a newbie at OSx86 so I was wondering if you could help me with my problem

first here is my system specs

Pentium D 805 - 2.66

M.B. : GA-8I945P-G

1.5Gigs of ram

Geforce 6600GT

Maxtor 160 SATA drive ( configured as channel 0 - master )

PATA DVD-Writer Toshiba ( as channel 1 - master )

Sound blaster Audigy Patinum

Technotrend DVB-S card ( which I DONT intend on using in OSX )

Now getting on with my prob. after installation of OSX is finished when its time for the 1st reboot the system just sits there with the spinning thingy at the bottom and doesnt restart...

( although this isnt the actual problem because I have once installed 10.4.3 on another computer and it did the same thing but after resetting it manually it worked as usual ).

Now the problem is that after resetting the system manually it starts to boot from the CDROM drive again as if I didn't install anything at all ( HDD boot is priority 1 in bios settings ).

At first I thought that maybe the active partition was now set so I booted from DVD again to check but instead of normally booting up from the DVD said that I have to restart my computer .... so I restart .... but again same error.

Booted up through windows xp cd and checked it out .......... there were no partitions anymore !!!! As if it just self erased themselfs after installation ( windows did not detect any non windows partitions and the drive was completely unpartitoned )

..... so I decided to try it again ....... and it installed this version like i did with 10.4.3 as follows....

1. create my partitons through windows xp boot cd ( all fat32 format ) in total 4 drives

2. format all ( as stated in 1 )

3. boot from 10.4.8 DVD

4. at installation menu -> select terminal

--- In Terminal ---

5. diskutil list -> to check my status of drives

6. fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0 -> location of HDD

7. p -> print stat of parti.