Installing 10.4.8 to DFI Lanparty SLI-DR nForce4 Opteron 165 Dual Core SATA

xxrixx

5 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I have devoted some time in researching the ideal macosx 10.4.8 installation method onto a PC with nforce4 SATA. I am a noob and I know many noob questions have been posted on the forum, but I hope someone can take a little time out to help me :D Thanks

My system specs are as follows:

-------------------------------------------

DFI Lanparty SLI-DR nForce4

Opteron 165 Dual Core (Overclocked)

2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR RAM

Nvidia Geforce 7800GTX

2X250GB Western Digital SATA HD's

1X250GB Samaung SATA HD

1X120GB Hitachi Deskstar ATA

Logitech G7 Wireless Mouse

Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000

-------------------------------------------

I have successfully installed 10.4.8 onto my Hitachi IDE HD using something called a 'KOTR' install disc. However, have the following issues during startup:

"EHCI controller unable to take control from BIOS"

"Apple USB EHCI unable to initialise UIM"

"IOATA controller device blocking bus"

these are just a few!

However, I was able to boot up and get into the OS. Then the fun started- Drivers. I downloaded mydevils AppleNForceATA.kext (rev3). On first restart, things were good. I saw my SATA drives! On second restart, I received some error messages that the kext was not installed properly.

Note: All I did to install this was copy the kext to the appropriate extensions folder. Nothing else :/

When I received this error message, I re-copied the kext and put it into the appropriate extensions folder. I never saw my SATA drives again and I then experienced some very erratic behaviour e.g. :

- 2nd display (currently running a dual screen setup) was upside down

- System would just freeze : mouse was working but I couldnt close or open any windows

- etc etc

Thus, this then leads to my question (sorry for taking ages!)...