cant figure this out, problem installing

jabibi

8 posts in this topic

i am completely new to mac os. i've never even used it actually and i'm really keen to try it out.

i'm using Mac OS X 10.4.8 [JaS AMD-Intel-SSE2-SSE3 with PPF1 & PPF2].iso

i've the following specs

amd athlon 64 x2 dual core 4200

1 gb ram

1 80 gb sata hard drive BUT i am actually installing on a ATA IDE 80 gb hard drive

Well here's what happens to me:

I boot up from the dvd (without problems i think although it takes a somewhat long time but i dont know if its normal)

i select the language, i click continue and the installer prompts me to find a target for the installation then i open the disk utility and erase the partition entirely

everything at this point is at predictable behaviour, heres what i dont know how to solve:

everytime i try to create a new partition as mac extended, or mac exetended journaled (by the way, what's the difference between them?? which one is better to use??)

i get an error saying: Cannot create partition input/output error.

more weird is the fact that if i keep trying i can get the partition created let's say 1 out of every 15 tries gets the partition created (maybe not entirely successfully)

so lets assume i got the partition created after trying A LOT, the it asks for options to install and i select my amd SSE3 thing and nvidia titan drivers and it starts writing files

it takes about 5 minutes to advance to go from 0% to 1%... it took it around 10 minutes to go from 1% to 2%, the dvd drive read led only lit up for a fraction of a second

after being there a few more minutes i get an error saying that i should try reinstalling

maybe the partition is corrupted or isnt created correctly? or is it the dvd? or the hard disks arent set up right? i really have no clue. help appreciatted. thank you all.