Hello There!

NomadicJo

7 posts in this topic

Hi folks,

I've been hackintoshing since 2017 using an i5-8600k, first with internal GPU, now on rx590. It started with High Sierra and now the machine is running Mojave.

Anyway, I am going nomadic soon and need to sell my workstation for a laptop. Ideally, I use only one laptop and travel light. There are some constraints in place, which make the choice difficult.

I'd like to dual boot linux and macOS. That leaves me with 2015 Macbooks or a hackintosh laptop. I hear that 2016 onwards MacBooks don't boot linux well and the new M1 macs neither. A 2015 MacBook is dated at this time though.

My thinking currently is to go with a 2018 or newer laptop and hackintosh it. What's the most compatible hardware? Is there a legendary machine in the field that would make a dual boot linux/OSX easier than others?

I don't care how old/new really, even the 2015 MacBook is an option still, although newer is better obviously.

Cheers!

Thank you. Did I understand correctly, that all of the Dell Latitude 3xxx, 5xxx, 7xxx work well as hackbooks but you recommended the 7xxx series for portability, because I said I'd like to travel light? (by the way, by that, I meant a single laptop rather than two, which I could also do, M1 air and a linux book, but I'd rather it be one machine. How much that machine weighs is less relevant.)

So if I go that latitude route, 10th generation is the newest supported. Is there a need to look out for what kind of hardware it is in detail?

Hello

I've considered your advice and purchased a latitude 7490 (which was a real bargain by the way) with an 8th generation i5, which I think is the i5-8350u.

The device is in the mail.I will put in a 1 TB SSD and put Linux and macOS next to each other eventually

I was wondering,  could I use the m2 SSD (Samsung 950) from my current hackintosh as is with just a different EFI. Like so:

0.) Back up first of course