HOW OR WHY USB PEN DRIVES DESTROYED BY INCORRECT KEXT OR DSDT / SSDT PATCHING?

3 posts in this topic

Greetings to the entire arsenal of Admins, Mods, Guru Devs, and the Testing Community!

It’s been a long time since I posted anything at Insanely. Life hasn’t been much lenient over the past couple of years. Anyhow, without much ado I present a strange but Gigantically Drastic Problem!

The Case History:

Some months back, I had built a Hack for a friend and it required Catalina, which I had successfully done so using OpenCore. I’m still fairly new to Open Core but Not Clover or the entire Hackintosh scene.

To configure the USB 2.0 & USB3.x ports, I followed a few guides (honestly can’t remember it all now) and also used Hackintool to enumerate, which are 2.0 and which 3.x as shown through hundreds of guides and vdos, you know where!

Part 1 :

THE MOST IMPORTANT, INTERESTING, AND DREADFUL PART COMES HERE =

This was the first time I faced this issue = which wiped out 3 of my USB 2.0 pen drives!

YES! YES! YES!

I still can’t understand how.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I began configuring the USB ports detection using Hackintool, and that moment, when I plugged in the first of Toshiba 16GB USB2.0 pen drives into the rear USB 3.0 port (blue colored), Hacknitool recognized that, that port was occupied.

The next moment, I plugged it out, and then that 16GB pen drive has been wiped clean by something.

It doesn’t show up in Mac – System Information when plugged in. Buti n Windows it shows common Error = “Device Descriptor Failed Error”

I had 2 more pen drives – which also faced the same fate, as I had somehow to fix his USB2 and USB 3 ports enumeration. I lost 3 pen drives that day! Attaching the pic too!

=========================================================================================================================================================

Part 2 :