NO AUDIO ON OS HIGH SIERRA (ALC 887)

21 posts in this topic

hi guys, a few days ago I decided to install os high sierra on my computer to have my graphics card working too (I'm a beginner). all good but the sound of the speakers does not work. (speakers are connected to tv, so hdmi audio doesn't work) my motherboard supports ALC887. i tried to change id but nothing. what could I do? thank you so much

my pc: 
  • gigabyte b250m-ds3h
  • intel i5 7400
  • ram hyperx 8gb
  • msi gtx 1050ti 4gb

Which HDMI would that be? On-board's or GTX 1050 Ti's?

Did you inject HDMI connector type to your iGPU? It's probably what's missing and that's necessary to support HDMI audio.

You could try by posting zipped copy of your config file + a zipped IOReg extract...

You need to know that, as a general standard in OS X/macOS, you cannot adjust HDMI audio volume from the Finder's bar, unlike speaker volume. HDMI audio volume can only be controlled on the HDMI device itself. So, if you're using a TV, use its remote control.

Looking at your Clover setup, there are several things to fix because they're not right.

1) Kexts:

• You're using what appears to be latest versions of Lilu + AppleALC + WEG; that's fine.
  • However, you're also using deprecated kexts such as Shiki (long integrated into WEG), IntelGraphicsDVMTFixup (same) and the old FakePCIIDxxxx kexts that are totally irrelevant and unsuitable to your Kaby Lake platfom. Get rid of all of those, they may be the source of your audio issues

2) Clover config:

ACPI section

• Given that there are no tables in your ACPI folder, whether dumped from BIOS into the origin subfolder or patched in your patched subfolder, I do wonder why you have device renamings in place. Given your previous position re: IOReg, I take it you've not checked anything in that respect and probably ignore what these are for or do.