History of HackinToshing? (Video idea)

iWin32

3 posts in this topic

Hello, everyone!  Before I get started with this post, I figured I would introduce myself.  I'm Rico, and I've been into Hackintoshing for a while.  I started in the tail-end days of Leopard distros, and have since set up several Hackintoshes, including a custom AMD build and an Acer Predator gaming laptop.  I'm not a developer or programmer in any sense of the word, but I am fairly knowledgeable when it comes to computers.  I also am a musician and an aspiring filmmaker, and I currently run several YouTube channels, including Robdeltonie and RECORE Entertainment.

Now, while being quarantined, I recently came up with an interesting YouTube video idea that I'm pretty sure hasn't really been done before.  I figured I could look at the history of hackintoshing and the OSx86 scene, from the Apple-Intel transition announcement in 2005 through today, covering Mac OS X Tiger through macOS Catalina.  It wouldn't really be a how-to video or a walkthrough of any sort, but rather just an informative look at how much the scene has changed in terms of technologically, practically, and legally.  (I know that Hackintoshing is not really the most legal thing depending on your jurisdiction, but you have to admit it's evolved into a more gray area compared to running a heavily-modified leaked version of Tiger from the Developer's Transition Kit back in the day.)  As I've stated above, I'm not a programmer, but I want it to be technologically accurate while still being accessible and easy-to-understand for the lay viewer.  That being said, I have a few questions that I'm hoping can be answered, most of which goes back to the early days of the Hackintosh scene.