Alienware 13 R3 w/ Intel HD 630 - Boot failure, no gfx acceleration, and more.

AlphaWIP

1 post in this topic

Laptop Specs:

Alienware 13 R3

i7-7700HQ w/ HM175

Intel HD 630 + GTX 1060, 2560x1440 resolution.

I've been doing Hackintosh for a couple of years now and I have built and installed macOS High Sierra on two desktop computers. I consider myself to be somewhat knowledgeable but this is my first laptop attempt, and I'm running into many issues.

Clover and the installer boots up just fine in the screen's native resolution (I have the OLED panel so 1440p) and the installer was insanely laggy graphically. The installation finished anyways and now when I boot into the system I'm faced with the following issues:

1. In Verbose, everything goes through perfectly at first. I've patched my GTX 1060 with an SSDT so it's disabled. However, after the verbose logs disappear and the Apple logo appears along with the cursor, the computer gets stuck. It's either stuck @ around 10 percent or sometimes it makes it through halfway but then stops there. I can still move the cursor around and sometimes when I spam "Enter" the screen kinda flashes white, but the progress bar is still stuck and I have no choice but to reboot. Sometimes the bar goes through but then I am presented with a black screen with a cursor that I can move.

2. Maybe one out of ten attempts, the progress bar does go through and I am able to log in. However, it's extremely painful as the graphics are extremely laggy and in the terminal, I have to keep double-clicking for it to refresh. Yes, it's that bad. 

3. Oddly, despite the graphics being extremely painful, in System Report my Kaby Lake HD 630 still gets recognized and displays having 1500MB of memory regardless if I use an invalid ID (0x12345678) or the proper Kaby Lake ID.