Cannot load Nvidia web driver for a GTX 970 on an old (2009) Alienware Aurora R1 ( core i7 920 LGA1366 & X58/ICH10R chipsets/IO controllers)

redbull02

20 posts in this topic

Hey guys, I'm a bit new to hackintosh but I've done some reading into the whole installation process and after installing several versions into a test hard drive in my super old Alienware Aurora R1 (2009), and playing around with some kext patching, bootflags, etc. I'm a bit more comfortable.

Anyhow, after successfully installing Sierra (10.12.3) on my system and getting on-board and PCI-e USB 2/3, on-board audio, Ethernet, firewire, etc. (not a single boot flag needed, the system runs stably), I still cannot get the Nvidia web drivers  loaded or any other graphics driver injections and thus my video performance is horrible (can't get past 720p res.; only DVI-I port working and slow/glitchy GUI overall). After installing the latest version of the web drivers, I've used the most common guides to get nvidia web drivers loaded from clover bootloader (legacy boot from EFI partition on a GPT disk dedicated to OSX test installations only). I've used several recommended boot flags combinations but during the bootup process (verbose mode - can see the volumes mounted and the kernel bootup process happening without any KP or getting stuck), the screen suddenly goes dark and I get no video output out of any port of my GTX 970 card (no DVI-I,  no DVI-D, no display ports and no HDMI). The only way to get back into the system is to use -x -f -F boot flags and then reverting the .plist modifications in clover so that no web drivers are loaded. 

Some bootflags combos tried: 

(1) did not enable nvda_drv=1 but enabled the system parameters => NvidiaWeb=yes

(2) enabled only nvda_drv=1 and not the NvidiaWeb=yes

(3) enabled both

(4) enabled NvidiaWeb=yes (also kext-dev-mode=1) but made sure that any other boot flags arguments that related to generic Nvidia/Intel drivers were disabled