Successfully installed 10.11.2 on Asrock Z170 Pro4 (i7 6700k + GTX 970)

mryellowduck

4 posts in this topic

This is my first attempt at a vanilla clover installation of OS X and it has, to my surprise, gone successfully. I've been reliant on hacked up images such as those provided by Niresh to install OS X in the past - I've come to realise that that isn't the cleanest or safest way of running OS X on a system I will be using daily.

Current status:

I'm running OS X from my hard drive with clover installed in an EFI partition. Everything seems to be running smoothly in terms of the graphics and UI (nvidia web drivers) with no crashes or artifacts. All USB slots are working as a result of Pike's AppleAPIC fix (thank you!). Ethernet is not working (this isn't an issue for my personally as I have a wifi adapter, but will look for a solution to help others). Sound is not working (this is probably a matter of finding the right kext). OS X seems to be only recognising half of my ram (8GB out of my actual 16GB).

(I'm by no means an expert, so follow the below steps at your own risk).

Steps:

1) Download the latest version of clover (3330). 

2) Install clover onto USB stick by choosing a theme and then selecting 'Drivers 64', 'Drivers64EUFI' and pressing install.

3) Download CPUsensor and FakeSMC kext produced by Majonez (these have been patched for Skylake). Manjonez shares these kexts here: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/309352-el-capitan-on-ga-z170x-gaming-5/?p=2188384

4) Unzip the HwSensors folder you just downloaded from Majonez, and then extract the FAKESMC.kext and the CPUsensors kext to the 'Other' and '10.11' folders in your EFI/CLOVER/kexts/.

5) Go into clover configurator and open up your plist.config. I unchecked all of the fixes (new and old way) found in the first page. You may or may not need to do this.