Media Issues on Mountain Lion 10.8 Virtual Machine

10 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I am new to the world of the Mac OS X and have recently installed the OS X Mountain lion 10.8 Vanilla onto a VMWare virtual machine. I have been able to successfully do all the updates, install the additional VM Tools (I have VMWare 10.1), and display adapters. I have been having some issues with the lag on the way iTunes works or any kind of media. I have gone through countless troubleshooting techniques and have not been able to figure it out. Listed below will be my specs, if anyone can help please do so! :D

My Rig:

Type: AlienWare M18x-R2

Manufacturer: Dell

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit/Mac OS X Mountain Lion 10.8

CPU: Core i-7 4.8 Ghz 12 cores

Memory: 64 GB DDR3 Ram

Video Card: 2 AMD Radeon HD 7970M

Sound Card: Sound Blaster Recon3Di

Hard Drive: 250 GB Solid State

HeadPhones: Turtle Beach Kilo

Mouse: Razor Naga Epic

Dual Monitors

My Virtual Machine Specs:

16 GB Ram

6 Processors at 4 cores

This should be enough? 

Thanks I have put a lot of time and money into building PCs in the past and decided to go with a "Build it yourself" one. That is very odd that you say that because all the Linux distributions and Windows OS`s that I make Virtual Machines out of never have an issue. I am really bothered that the iTunes has issues with the kind of specs that I have allowed it to use. I mean were simply talking about playing a music file here. 

Thanks I have put a lot of time and money into building PCs in the past and decided to go with a "Build it yourself" one. That is very odd that you say that because all the Linux distributions and Windows OS`s that I make Virtual Machines out of never have an issue. I am really bothered that the iTunes has issues with the kind of specs that I have allowed it to use. I mean were simply talking about playing a music file here.