[Guide] Asus K53SD with OSX10.9 Vanilla

slurpi

2 posts in this topic

Hi everyone.

This is my first serious hackintosh, although I have used Macs for many years now. I decided to post this in a didactically way, instead of just dumping the kexts and DSDT, because I'd like to share what I have learned along the way. Since I am a noob here (although I have some experience as a Linux sysadmin and programmer), I'd be very thankful if you report any mistakes or inaccuracies that you find.

Let's start with the specs of the laptop:

• Chipset HM65
  • CPU i7 2670QM (with 6GB RAM)
  • Integrated Video: Intel HD3000 (with 384MB VRAM)
  • Discrete Video: Nvidia GeForce 610M (with 2GB VRAM) (PCI 1,0,0 VEN 0x10de & DEV 0x1058 & SUBSYS 0x16521043 & REV A1 & CC 030000)
  • The 2 video boards work in Optimus mode, not selectable in BIOS
  • Monitor: 1366x768
  • Bluetooth: Atheros (VID 0x13d3 & PID 0x3304)
  • WiFi: Atheros AR9002WB-1NG (VID 0x168c & DEV 0x002b & SUBSYS 0x2c371a3b & CC 028000)
  • Ethernet: Atheros AR8151 PCI-E (VID 0x1969 & DEV 0x1083 & SUBSYS 0x18511043 & CC 020000)
  • And: Video camera, audio and mic, USB2 and USB3 ports, VGA and HDMI out.

What doesn't work: the Nvidia GeForce 610M (although is recognized) and the video out (both VGA and HDMI).
All the rest works, including sleep.

Before we go on a step-by-step installation (see below), here is the list of kext and other software:

So you see, instead of giving you the kexts, I am pointing to their project pages. This way, you can always get the latest version. This would have saved me several hours of unnecessary work in the beginning, since I was using old kexts that were causing kernel panics in 10.9.

If anyone knows the original project pages for the NullCPUPowerManagement and the atheroswlan injector, let me know, I'd like to update the links.

There are also several useful tools, but I'll refer to them as we go along.