no hard disk to install on...

boogie03

15 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm a newbie to all this and I'm trying to get a copy of osx86 running on my laptop:

IBM t60p

2ghz dual core intel duo

ATI Fire GL v5200

What I have done so far:

I already had windows runnig on my laptop so...

-I used gparted to shrink my windows partition and create two new partitions one of which was ext3 and the other fat32.

-I then got a copy of the Maxxus_Patch_Solution _v 1.0 Mac OS X Install disc.

-I then installed Fedora 5 which installed GRUB bootloader as well on my ext3 partition.

-I burned the OSX install disc onto a DVD using a DVD Studio Pro on a Macintosh G5.

-I booted my IBM up with the OSX Disc in the drive.

It booted ust great and was fine untill I got to the choose a hard disc to install on.

It didn't recoginize any of my partitions as a place to install.

I went into disk utility and tried to format the Fat32 partition where I planned to put mac OSX but Disc Utility wouldn't allow it I futzed around with disc utility for a while longer. Restarted my computer and tried it again and again yielding the same results each time I then thought that the DVD wasn't patched correctly.

So now I'm looking at my ISO and wondering if there is something I'm supposed to do with the Maxxuss_Patch_Solution_v 1.0 folder that is on the Disc Image, perhps someone out there knows what is wrong and that it is a very simple problem that I have ignorantly missed. I would much appreciate any input/insight on this matter.

Thanks ahead of time.

hans

First of all it would be better to get one of the more actual JaS Install CDs i.e. 10.4.6

Look in the Install Program there is a disk utility in the apple bar on top, try this one to prepair your disk. Have you already made an af partition with windows?

yeah I've already tried to erase the disk and restore it and basically any other operation that the install disk allows and it wouldn't allow me to touch and partitions.