Why have I gone into this?

martinfinch

3 posts in this topic

First of all I'm a DJ. Second of all I'm a designer and quite a design enthusiast (though low budget one).

So one day I've came across the information about possibility of installing OS X on normal PC (you get the idea of how it took my interest :rolleyes: ). I own small barebone lappy (clevo M540G, Pentium M 1.73, 1GB RAM, 60GB HDD, Intel 950GMA, Realtek compatible sound and network).

It took about five minutes to find what I was looking for and another 10h to download what was needed. It was a nice feeling (kinda thrill :rolleyes: ) to run to nearest news agent and getting some DVD blanks (some... just in case anything would go wrong). First burn then install... all smooth! Reboot... blue screen :rolleyes: .

I wont go through all the details as it was quite few of them but for those who've got the same issue:

- Search for the VGA dongle (few wires and my display worked)

- Search for Diabolik's fixes (You'll probably get your QE/CI fixed)

- I had some problems with the sound but installing Azalia kexts and playing around with permissions in terminal fixed the problem.

desktop.jpg

:rolleyes::rolleyes::graduated:

Now I have fully functional OS X on my 600euros (bought 2 years ago) lappy :rolleyes:

The reason I've done that is I always wanted to work with Logic! Now I can and it woorks much better on my laptop than on friends of mine powerbook g4 :rolleyes: Though I'm little bit higher on budget now and going to muy new machine in a day or two :rolleyes:

My only concern is: Shall I save a bit longer to get macbook pro or get something similar for 50% price? There's a lot of good things about apple stuff (you now... I'm the design enthusiast :rolleyes: ) but there's a lot of bad as well.

For instance macbook pros get extremely hot and nearly impossible to keep on your lap when you really WORK.

Also these are not possible to build up if you want. I know they're great and original but...