Thunderbolt

sketchy

10 posts in this topic

Hello -

I'm new to the Hackintosh scene, and I'm strongly considering building a Hackintosh rig to replace my aging MacPro 1,1.

One of the enticing possiblities of this rig-to-be would be Thunderbolt capabilities, but after perusing the forums here for a while, I'm gettig the picture that TB performance isn't necessarily a slamdunk. I apologize if this has been talked about, but a couple of fairly thorough searches haven't yielded the information I'm looking for.

I did read that there are issues with connecting a TB display, but I'm not really interested in the display aspect of Thunderbolt (yet). I'm looking to the data throughput for storage usage. Can anyone chime in on whether they have any experience on Hackintosh builds with TB that have rock-solid attached storage performance? I'd be very interested in whether the Hackintosh has made that leap reliably, as it were.

Also, I'd be interested to hear if anyone has had any experiences in playing around with any of the TB docks that are hitting the market - for example, this one:

http://www.belkin.com/us/p/P-F4U055

and used it succesfully with a TB Hackintosh rig.

Thank you kindly in advance for any replies.

Thanks for your speedy replies, Rampage Dev and tle88.

As long as the MB has thunderbolt it is compatible under Mac OS X. There is no hot plugging on hacks at this time.

That is good to hear. IINM, I was reading more entries in the forum last night that TB wasn't even working at all for people even a few short months ago?...

As long as it works for storage: that's the big motivator for me with this machine.

I'm having the odd client here and there walk in with TB drives now. Those drives have other interfaces too - but a couple of times that other interface has been USB2 and it slooooooows the process right down.

Haswell is coming. And 10.9 ...

Can You wait several month ?

T -.-

Here's my problem: