Editing Files in (-S) User Mode

macus

7 posts in this topic

I've recently been working with my system and trying to get my ATI Radeon 1900XTX to function with Jas OSX 10.4.7

My Spec is

Asus A8R32-MVP Delux

ATI Radeon 1900XTX Powercolor

2 GB DDR Corsair Xpert

Creative XFI Fatality

Onboard Sound ACL882 Realtec (Sound Works on Mac OSX with no Problem)

80GB IDE (Installed on this Partition)

2x 320 GB Western Digital Sata2 Raid 0 (Windows XP Pro x64)

74 GB Western Digital Raptor

I'm new to the Mac's myself and command line so im still learning as i go along. So i can be classed as a Noob.

Basic Install works fine for me without a problem. I can't use the ATI patch that comes along on the CD (JaS 10.4.7 DVD) as it does not boot into the OS it will simply sit in (-V) mode and display Login Screen Loaded in TEXT)

So i asked a few people about this and they said it been proven to be more successful to install in Manualy instead of using the installer. So i've been tryin that the past 2 days on and off without success. The main thing that annoys me is the fact that i have to reinstall my whole OS as i don't know how to edit files in -S mode as it keeps tellin me its a read only system. Is there any way to access the terminal and edit files the same way as in the OS with ease? or is there any other commands to edit a file.

Any help at all would be great

Thanks!

Why are you trying to do it in single user mode?

Do a basic install of OSX. Then follow the Boris link in my sig for updating your video files. Posting 1 gives a manual method using the Terminal. Posting 3 gives you an installer. They give slightly different results.