Welcome to InsanelyMac Forum

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Sign in to follow this  

Advice on building a hexacore i7 for video + animation

2 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the world of OSx86, and I could do with a little encouragement that I'm doing the right thing.

I'm a graphic designer and motion graphics guy. My work involves heavy use of Photoshop, After Effects and Cinema 4D. I

i'd love a bit of advice as to whether my system components are going to be compatible for OSx86 . Parts list here, and also attached is a complete list of system parts inc. fans CPU coolers etc. (ignore the 550 on this)

Intel Core i7 3930K, 3.2GHz, Hex Core + Hyperthreading (OC'd to 4.2GHz)

Asus P9X79 Motherboard

32GB (8x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP, DDR3, 1600MHz

256GB Samsung 830 Series, SSD

3TB Seagate Barracuda, SATA 6Gb/s, 7200rpm

EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked

The system is coming pre-built. I've just got a few queries:

The system is coming Overclocked to 4.2GHz. Is there any risk to the processor by running a hackintosh? The guys there know their stuff about over clocking so I've got no worries about Windows, but would it still be as stable on a hackintosh?

Performance wise how does a hackintosh benchmark compared to the same system running the default windows 7 OS?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this