faulty hard drive replaced now having probs with OSX

cellz55

1 post in this topic

im an expert at PC repair and diagnostics.. Mac's arent really my field of expertise.. but i took on the challenge of trying to fix a relatives Macbook white 13" im sure its the late 2006 model.. mainly the first one that came with intel chip i think..i think the model should be ma700ll/a or something like that..

her problem was it died.. and i dont really deal with macs im a PC kinda guy. but im pretty knowledgable in all fields of computer geekness..

i prettymuch troubleshooted her laptop to have a defective hard drive.. there was a constant clicking when you turned it on and it wouldnt show anything but a grey screen...

she bought a new hard drive (320GB WD scorpio blue) i swapped the old one out which was a hitachi or something.. now my problem is this.. she doesnt have the original discs. ive spent about 2 days downloading and burning so many different versions of OS X i think my head is turning into an apple..

since the hard drive is fresh i need to install an OS but im having mad trouble doing this.. at first i downloaded only stuff that would fit on a single layer dvd because thats all i had.. only one dvd i burnt even let me get the apple logo but then it would give me the do not enter sign..

holding down D or command D doesnt do anything for me..

if i boot in verbose mode.. after the appleyukon2 stuff i keep getting still waiting for root device.. and it keeps repeating still waiting for root device after the appleyukon2 stuff..

i cant do safe mode.. and when i try to boot from dvd it goes to apple logo and you see the little spinwheel under that but then it turns into the donot enter sign after a while..

any help would be greatly appreciated.. i downloaded diskwarrior.. only thing im able to do in that is check the hard drives smart status.. no formatting options in there for me..