Partitioned, installed 1.OSX: boot 2.XP: no boot

vanou

8 posts in this topic

Hello,

First, I would like to thank everybody for the mine of info I could find here.

OK, I'm a kind of newbie to the osX86 community, but I'm an experienced mac user, and a self-taught ignorant on Windows. I friend gave me his Acer 3613WLMI worn out with Win viruses and problems to instal osX. I just had to pin a paperclip to the VGA to start and everything seemed ok:

1. I started witht the Hotiso 10.4.6 (the only one starting up), used the Mac OS disk utility to partition the hd (remember I'm a mac user): 1. 25 Gb HFS+journalled, 2. 11 Gb FAT32.

2. Installed OsX with patches (thanks to whom it may concern) on partition 1. No trouble except for the active partition making afterwards (http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=22844&hl=Active Thanks Rammjet!!). I just had to change the video driver to AC97 for QE/CI. Fine. No Wireless (Airport), but hey, not bad.

I installed a lot of stuff to play around (Office, Darwine, Sheepshaver, it's something to play these old OS9 games on a pc..., Parallels and so on --> I don't want to do it again...).

Then the friend said: let's install XP sp2 on the _second_ partition to dual boot.

3. Started on that XP CD. At the start, the dos-like screen says "Windows has to make the first partition inactive, ... bla bla bla". I noted to go back to fdisk later. Instal goes fine, restart. And then...

Patatras ! (as we say in French)

No boot anymore : "Disk error, press any key to restart" (of course I tried! nothing).

Did the Rammjet above fdisk trick. Worked only ONCE, and then only with the OSX DVD in the drive (couldn't start again, understand that?)

Then I started to _really_ search this forum.

Found a lot of stuff [that might be the trouble actually, this long long lists of posts... - I know I'm adding one, sorry], but nothing related.

I've spend a couple of nights on this.

Please help, or at least hint.