Athlon 64 3200+, Biostar K8NHA Grand, Rad. X800 PRO, Netgear WG311...

TNCEKM

4 posts in this topic

Okay, I'm a total newbie to OS X and it took a bit of work, and some help from this great forum, but I have my computer running OS X 10.4.6 JaS and its doing everything I need it to.

Motherboard issues

SATA doesn't work. USB works great no patching, same with onboard sound (AC 97).

I didn't test OnBoard LAN on the K8NHA Grand, so I can't help anyone looking for that info.

Install Native Via VMWare

Anyway, I installed a native copy on a separate HDD via VMWare through this tutorial:

http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?act...=45&t=11314

b0 Error - Marking my HFS partition as active

After that, I rebooted and received a "b0" error in both Native and VMWare modes and this was because I needed to mark my partition as active. To overcome this I booted to DVD (or Image of DVD via Alcohol 120% in Win XP) and typed the following commands (via osx8 wiki):

(# indicates shell prompt)

# -v -s

(wait for the shell to load)

# fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0

# print

(a list of partitions will be displayed)

# flag n

(n = the partition you want to make active, usually 1)

Then reboot

Radeon X800 PRO Installation

My original install was JaS 10.4.6. Biostar K8NHA Grand, Radeon X800 Pro AGP.

- Replaced all ATI kexts in /System/Library/Extensions/ from the ones on the 10.4.6 CD via Pacifist.

- Replaces OpenGL.framework in /System/Library/Frameworks/ from the folder on the 10.4.6 CD

- Installed Callisto b006 and updated ATIRadeon9700GA.plugin

- Installed AGPGart2.0 Universal into /System/Library/Extensions/ (found on this site in a zip).

Deleted /System/Library/Extensions.mkext and /System/Library/Extensions.kextcache.

Ran 'kextcache -k /System/Library/Kextcache/' in terminal.