Dual boot 10.6.3 and Windows 7 on Dell XPS M1330

IDH420

5 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm completely new to the world of MAC, but so far have managed to get it up and running on my M1330. The problem I have is trying to get dual boot working:

I partitioned my disk into 2 and installed 10.6.3 (worked fine from Retail DVD), then Windows 7 on the second partition. Installed Easy BCD V2.0 on Windows with the following results:

• Windows7 Boots fine
  • OS X starts to boot (I get the Chameleon loader screen) I select my OS X install and then get the Kernel Panic screen.
  • If I boot from my boot CD I used to install Snow Leopard, I select my MAC install and it loads perfectly.

The only difference I can see is the version of Chameleon on my boot CD (V2 RC3 r658) and the version on the hard disk partition (V2 RC4 r684).

Do I just need to downgrade the version of Chameleon already installed, if so any help anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi,

I'm completely new to the world of MAC, but so far have managed to get it up and running on my M1330. The problem I have is trying to get dual boot working:

I partitioned my disk into 2 and installed 10.6.3 (worked fine from Retail DVD), then Windows 7 on the second partition. Installed Easy BCD V2.0 on Windows with the following results:

• Windows7 Boots fine
  • OS X starts to boot (I get the Chameleon loader screen) I select my OS X install and then get the Kernel Panic screen.
  • If I boot from my boot CD I used to install Snow Leopard, I select my MAC install and it loads perfectly.

The only difference I can see is the version of Chameleon on my boot CD (V2 RC3 r658) and the version on the hard disk partition (V2 RC4 r684).

Do I just need to downgrade the version of Chameleon already installed, if so any help anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.