[How to]Hackint0sh your Packard-Bell SB87 | Geforce 8600M GT

biker-flat

3 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I'm really new to hackintosh and mac interface too, and I hard a pretty hard time to make my Geforce 8600M GT 512MB properly recognized with QE/CI. I've found numerous tutorials with antagonist procedures...

Anyway, if this can help anyone using a Packard-Bell Easynote SB86 or SB87 with a Geforce 8600M GT...

My laptop is initially a SB86 with a GeForce 8600M GS, but it burned (it's a known problem on these freakin' cards) so it was replaced (not by PB which doesn't want to recognized the problem) by a 8600M GT for half the price by my reseller... I had to compromise!

First, I'm using iAtkos S3 V2. (I haven't tried a Vanilla Kernel yet, but I think I will soon, I'll let you guys know if I'm getting any success).

On install, I'm using the following :

- Default settings

- Sound: VoodooHDA only

- PS/2: Apple PS/2

- nVidia : Natit

- Ethernet>Wired> Marvell Yukon 88E8056 (says in description that it will work with 88E8039 as well)

- Laptop: Battery

Reboot with the iAtkos DVD, type -s

then : fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0 (if 0 is your disk...)

flag 1 (if 1 is your partition used)

quit

reboot

Remove the DVD. I used easyBCD to make a dual boot with Windows 7 Pro (already installed on my machine). I won't get into this, there are countless decent tutorials about it. (NB: If Windows 7 start to cry about a broken boot, just chill out and use your Win 7 instal DVD. If it won't repair itself (it happened to me, maybe because Win 7 and Mac OS are on separate disk ?), you can use the command terminal

DISKPART
#list disk
#select disk X // Select the disk X where Win 7 is
#list partition
select partition N // Select the partition N where Win 7 is
#active
#exit
REBOOT with the Win 7 DVD still in and it should repair it automatically this time

Anyway, when you'll boot on your Mac OS X Snow Leopard, type "-v -f". Should be OK.